We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cream tea”

Dolly's Tea Room & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dolly’s is a tea room and wine bar in the centre of Falmouth which opened in July 2011 in one of the most beautiful rooms in town. During the day it is a traditional tea room serving illy coffee, teapigs, cream teas and cakes. It then transforms in the evening to a candlelit wine bar serving delicious tapas, wine by the glass, jug and bottle. Cocktails are served in teapots and poured into vintage teacups with ice cubes in sugar bowls. Furnished with chapel chairs and reclaimed tables it has a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. It is also dog friendly and Hebe, Dolly’s yellow Labrador, is a permanent fixture.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great cream tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Dropped by for cream tea on a cold November afternoon. Delicious scones and friendly staff, including Labrador. Would go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    46
    11
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delightful room but not sure how long it will last”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

fantastic room but not a place to go if you want a nice meal. the menu is mainly small bits of this and that. its more a place to go in the evening, if I was the owner I would concentrate on the evenings, maybe with jazz and cocktails, and not food as venue's that try to do everything clearly don't work. good luck

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A quirky little oasis of calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We went to Dolly's several times when we were staying in Falmouth over the summer. It is both a tea room and a wine bar and has a small but tasty looking menu at lunchtime and in the evening. You could easily miss it as it is upstairs. It's quirky in an interesting way. I was fascinated that the wine list (many available by the glass) on the blackboards is many times longer than the food menu! We liked it - it is relaxing and peaceful but maybe too quiet on the Saturday evening we ventured in. Howveer there was a fireworks display that evening and the whole town was quiet as everyone must have been at the fireworks.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess7of9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vintage Tea and Luscious Cakes plus Cocktails inTeapots!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Dolly's is a delightful addition to Falmouth's High St. A beautiful room with stately proportions, the decor is tastefully original. During the day, I was tempted beyond endurance by a selection of luscious cakes and sandwiches. Returning in the evening for cocktails served in vintage teapots,and tapas, I was charmed by the whole experience. The service was as winning as every other aspect of the place, with pretty waitresses restoring my faith in the ability of young people to provide old-fashioned standards of service. Dolly herself actually exists, and is a most welcoming hostess, as is her endearing labrador, who has big brown eyes and excellent manners. I would return again and again..

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frillylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Stylish and friendly tea shop/wine bar in the centre of Falmouth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I went for afternoon tea at Dolly's (excellent Latte) and went back in the evening for yummy tapas and teapot cocktails.

The room is beautifully decorated and the staff were welcoming and chatty. There's also a very friendly Labrador.

It's unlike any of the other places in town and I'll be back next time I visit friends in Falmouth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heykev72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolly's Tea Room & Wine Bar also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Dolly's Tea Room & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing