We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
104
134
61
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
134
61
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate shower cubicle small gym garden room leisure facilities bit dated swimming pool comfortable sofas bar menu huge room bunk beds clean hotel coach party on arrival lovely hotel walk into town quiet location waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely old historic hotel which needs significant investment. I can forgive this as its family owned and will never compete with the large chains for value. Had a pint in the bar and asked the underworked barman to call a taxi and was told to walk back to reception to ask them to call one....................!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Arrived approximately 8.00pm Friday evening,. Reception closed. noticed a bad musty, stale smell. Had to go to the bar, booked in ok and shown the way to our room.
Dropped off cases and need to order food due to last orders at 9.00pm. Food good and served promptly. Bar reasonably busy, but lounge looked like an old peoples home.
Stayed in the bar for drinks, told by staff member that they had an early start the next morning for breakfast and also was playing ruby and was tired, then told us the bar closes at 11.00pm.
Went to our room and started to unpack, we very tired due to traveling over 300 miles (6 hours). Noticed a few bits with the room, such as the curtains didn't meet and our daughters room (20) curtains had a lack of hooks and were barely hanging on the rail.
The next morning we actually looked around our room.
Wall lights didn't work at dressing table, hinge broken on the wardrobe, Chair stained in bedroom, hair on covers, Staines on Table in bedroom, mould on blind and ceiling and around the bath, cracked wall tiles, toilet holder across the room (good if you have long arms), had no were to put toiletries, bathroom very grubby. couldn't turn off heating, Squeaky floor boards above.
Breakfast, table items missing, no staff to ask as they were in the kitchen the hole time and had to grab them when you could. Given coffee but no cups, not butter, toast arrived before breakfast so stone cold. My daughter ordered the cooked breakfast without bacon and tomato but extra hash browns. It arrived with bacon and no mushrooms. We did ask for the mushrooms but never arrived.
Receptionist very helpful when we ordered a cab for the Saturday evening. Didn't say in the hotel for a meal, as the atmosphere wasn't great and didn't want to feel guilty staying in the bar because the barman wanted to close up.
Overall have very disappointing stay and extremely over charged. We have stayed in Premier in for half the price and received far better accommodation.
Actually wish we hadn't paid our bill, feel completely ripped off.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

A lovely hotel but spoiled by a very rusty shower pole, and squeaky floorboards in the room above my ground floor room, which prevented me having a good nights sleep. A disappointing breakfast too, no muesli or fresh fruit. The breakfast table was missing various cutlery and crockery and service was disorganised. The bar meal was very good though.

Room Tip: Don't pick a ground floor room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel fairly late, having unwittingly chosen the weekend the university students start the new year. The lovely receptionist, Rachael, lent me her own phone charger to boost up my completely dead phone. Thanks Rachael, you're a star!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Got upgraded to a garden room which was fantastic, large room fully furnished. Food very good and value for money.
Areas look a bit dated and could do with modernising, loose the big chairs as it looked like an old peoples home. Could be made to be a very good hotel
Loved our break and will go back

Room Tip: Loved the garden room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews