We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chester Canal View

Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free on-site secure parking!!
Modern, comfortable room with en-suite
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by day
Large shower cubicle........................Kitchenette with breakfast basket.
What else do you need to relax and enjoy visiting Chester?
Your view of the Roman Walls and Water Tower by night
Romantic and what an outlook?
Misty morning over the Water Tower
Your view to the snowy lock in Winter (hopefully just winter!!)
Splendid quiet country environment,yet still in the heart of Chester
Dusk at Tower Wharf and the Dee Basin, a mass of history surrounds you at Chester Canal View.
Secluded yet still in the heart of Chester and... free secure parking!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda G
1 review
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Absolutely beautiful lovely peace and quiet lovely views close to town and local pubs and restaurants made to feel very welcome will be booking again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment - well recommended”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The booking process was very clear. We paid our deposit and then the balance prior to our stay and the owner Ken kept in touch first via email and then closer to our stay via text. We knew to expect a complimentary breakfast hamper but we never dreamt it would contain so much. We stayed for three nights and the food/drinks kept us going for the duration. Not only was there a basket of food/drinks, but there was also a jar of coffee, box of tea and a small fridge full of goodies. The small kitchen was also well stocked with cutlery/crockery. There was a microwave and a small oven/grill which I found simple to operate. The room is a good size as is the en-suite which contained full size shampoo/conditioner/liquid soap. When we arrived we had received instructions from Ken on how to gain entrance to the gated community, and we were able to park outside of the apartment. As you enter the front door, you enter a small hallway into another inner hallway which leads both to the apartment on the ground floor and also via another door to Ken's part of the house. We had complete privacy and also use of the books/games/dvds in the inner hallway. We stayed for 3 nights and soon found a shortcut to town. We had been to Chester the previous year so we know it pretty well now. I would definitely stay at Canal View again as long as the prices remain reasonable. It is fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the breakfast basket
Liked least: Nothing it was all fab
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
125Margo
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked this accommodation on reading the reviews on this site.....we were not disappointed. A first class room in a most desirable location. We received a warm and helpful reception from our host and as a bonus, great friendliness from permanent residents either side. This was our first visit to Chester and together with Canal View, we had an exceptional Easter holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynAn...
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Canal View for a couple of nights and found it to be perfect in every respect. The accommodation itself provided everything you would want. Very comfortable room fitted to excellent standards. I'm a lover of quality bedding and that's what we had here. Nice en-suite bathroom and the little kitchenette is a real bonus (certainly an improvement on the kettle which is all you would normally get in such accommodation). Generally very well thought through to make sure everything you may want or need is provided. Extremely well maintained too. The location couldn't be beaten. Right next to the canal in a quiet location but at the same time only a stones through from the city centre with everything in very easy walking distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A 5 star diamond place to stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The place was so amazing & was a 5 star diamond place to stay in the beautiful city of Chester. I went with my mother & the place was an unexpected gem of a place. Ken the owner was a fabulous top bloke & nothing was ever a problem. The place was immaculate & a lovely comfy bed & everything you could want was on hand. The morning having breakfast in the room, overlooking the water in the sunshine was fantastic ( although the weather wasnt the greatest ). Couldnt find fault with anything & was worth every penny.

Canal view is very central & you are only a leisurely stroll to the centre of town or to the racecourse. A walk around the walls is a must & there is alot of canal boats drifting down the canal on the other side for you to view. If you are lucky you can see them going up the canal ladders up the locks on the hill, a real feat of Victorian invention & still going strong today! We saw 2 boats going up & it was some sight.

We went in the very early spring but in warm summer Canal View would be so good as you could throw open the french windows & relax & let the world go by. A fabulous place & is a real gem & so romantic if it was just you & your partner.
Best place i have found & so worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & the friendliness of Ken & the immacuate condition
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing