We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You cannot beat this for a couples weekend in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Log burning stove.
View of river Dee looking towards Chester  from downstairs.
Downstairs toilet and shower cubicle.
Bedroom with king-size bed overlooking river Dee.
Upstairs ensuite toilet
Spare bed at top of spiral staircase not suitable for young children.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jann58201...
Province of Varese, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You cannot beat this for a couples weekend in Chester.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely spotless cottage with the view of the river within a few minutes walk to the centre of Chester. The city is beautiful with much to see and do. Some very good restaurants to suit all budgets. Having a pint of milk, tea and other essentials provided is such a kind thought and the bottle of wine was really welcome. This is a a compact but beautiful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to any couple wishing to visit Chester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to the city and the view
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Hi thanks for your kind remarks, so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and enjoyed Chester, hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen M
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant cottage”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we have just stayed at Driftwood cottage 13-16 June and we really wished we had booked a longer stay!! It is a lovely cosy spotless and very very comfortable cottage. So tastefully decorated and very high end refurbishment. I envy the person who designed the whole cottage.... Such excellent taste. Every room was a delight. We echo all the other comments from the complimentary goodies to bread, milk, butter etc etc. such a lovely touch. The location was brilliant and only a few minutes to centre of Chester. We went on a great city tour where Peter the guide made it fun and interesting. Views lovely and very very quiet. We never go back to a place a second time but we are intending to book again at some time as so much to see and do!!! Well done Owner. It was a delight to stay in. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, decor, comfortable
Liked least: nothing whatsoever!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Wow Thank you for your lovely comments. It gives us a buzz when people love it as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannyfevo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from our stay at driftwood cottage and absolutely loved it. The house was spotless and cosy and the added extras like a bottle of wine and chocolates were very much appreciated. The views from the windows were lovely and we spent a lot of time watching the herons with the binoculars provided. The location was perfect as your just out of the busy part of chester but only a 5 minute walk to the shops. We will hopefully be booking again for later this year. Great little house couldn't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the comfy beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Ah what a lovely review. so glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenann7...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A beautiful well equipped and compact modern cottage tastefully furnished. Ideally situated on the river and within walking distance of the city centre. A truly relaxing heaven for couples or individuals. Excellent utilities internally. Superb welcome tray included everything needed, plus an added extra of a bottle of wine & chocs was a lovely surprise! Elizabeth the owner really has thought of everything, we hope to be back very soon.

Karen & Pete

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Hi both ,glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and many thanks for your kind words.Hope you can come back sometime.
regards Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emma t
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Accodation and location”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I would recommend to stay at Driftwood Cottage.
This is a beautiful and cosy property. I will definately be returning.
Each morning we ate breakfast by the window whilst feeding the ducks on the river.
It is a 5 minute walk into chester where everything is you need.
The property is beautiful inside and has all the facilities you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomdation
Liked least: none all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you from us and the ducks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing