We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening at the Saddle Inn”
Review of The Saddle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saddle Inn
Ranked #6 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Stayed here for one night couple of days ago and found it a very warm welcoming establishment .
The room was very clean and extras were included such a high quality towels and shower gels etc.
There was entertainment in the evening which was excellant and despite everyone knowing each other we were made to feel very welcome by the manager (Leigh) and staff , would go back for this alone as had a really fun relaxed evening.
Would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A very old building so stairs narrow in parts .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JacHeitzman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the hotel and entertainment that we offer.
We are a family run establishment and my wife and I try to make everyone feel at home with the staff and locals during their stay. It's great to hear that you felt welcomed and would like to stay again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

We received a warm welcome upon arrival. Our room (number 4) was spacious and the bed large. This is an old building, but has been freshly decorated, nevertheless, its age is apparent. We were pleased to see that secondary glazing had been installed which helped to keep out the road noise which is to be expected in a city centre Inn. It was a very good location for exploring the city. Thank you Rebecca for your recommendation for a place to eat in the evening. Our only slight problem was the loud music from the bar below, however, we were so tired and the bed so comfortable that even that did not keep us awake! Breakfast was excellent and the price of the stay was very reasonable indeed.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the largest and faces the street. It is above the Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussycherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your review.
The Saddle is a Grade 2 listed building and we think that is part of the charm. The secondary glazing is the best we can do in this old building so thank you letting us know it helped to reduce the noise. I will pass your comments onto my wife Rebecca, we have our favourite restaurants to dine in the city so I'm glad to hear you enjoyed her recommendation.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again for your next stay in our beautiful city,
Best wishes Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Im just back from a fab 4 night stay at the saddle , with my friends, we got there late Thursday, when we got there (toni) check us in very helful helped me with my case up the stairs. We stayed in room 2 it was lush clean tidy couldnt fault it really, they cleaned it everyday so that was good, us girls are messy shower was powerful so that was good very large which was good too, as 3 of us getting ready we wasnt falling over each other.
We met the landlord n lady the next day ( lee & Rebecca) lovely people made us feel at home, lee told us which was the best bars n clubs to hit so that was good not knowing the area like , breakfast was nice did black pudding so i was happy lol .. so just want to say thank you too lee & Rebecca & all the staff for making it a good stay , see you soon guys xx

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank marymoomooxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Mary, thank you for taking time to write such a great review.
You and your friends became part of our Saddle family after staying with us for so long and I will pass on your comments to all the staff.
We enjoyed hosting you all as much as you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to see you all again soon. Best wishes Leigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Everything was fine here; the only reason I rated it a 4 rather than a five was the decor/furnishings. The latter are shabby and cheap for the most part. On the other hand, all of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful; the only name I remember is Katie, who served us breakfast one morning.

Room Tip: Top floor is more removed from the noise of the pub downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dennisaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaddleinnchester, Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your review.
My wife and I have been managing The Saddle since March 2017 with a view to buy the business at which point we hope to refurbish the rooms and bring the bathrooms up to date. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and hopefully the furnishings will match their customer service satisfaction on your next stay.
Kind regards Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Not only were the staff all lovely, the breakfast was delicious and the room was immaculate, would highly recommended to anyone. Plan on returning for saturday night drinks and the Black Sabbath tribute band in November Only problem was the shower didn't work but I imagine that has been fixed by now.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesallen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesaddleinnchester, General Manager at The Saddle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review and notifying us of the problem with your shower, it has been fixed. I will pass your positive comments onto the bar staff and chef. We look forward to seeing you again in November if not before.
Best wishes Leigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,797 reviews
1.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.5 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Ye Olde King's Head
Ye Olde King's Head
#4 of 76 in Chester
443 reviews
0.6 km away
Pied Bull Inn
Pied Bull Inn
#9 of 76 in Chester
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddle Inn

Address: 21 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: ₹ 6,064 - ₹ 11,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saddle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saddle Inn is located close to the amenities of the city centre and the racecourse and are ideally situated for you to enjoy a fun-filled weekend stay or a relaxing drink or meal with friends and family. The public areas on the ground floor have undergone a complete refurbishment offering our customers a stylish and welcoming environment. A newly designed bar area is sure to impress offering a wide range of draught beers, cask ales, spirits, wines and cocktails. The newly appointed dining area offers a range of home cooked food including light bites, pub classics and a traditional Sunday Roast offering. You can also relax in our lounge area and enjoy a coffee or speciality tea and make use of the free wifi. (Please check with us for our food opening times) The Saddle Inn, newly established in 2014 is in a fantastic central location that enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city's thriving cultural landscape. The Saddle Inn is a large historical building which is located near the Roman amphitheatre. We are situated next to the museum and also within walking distance of the race course and shops. All our rooms come with comfortable en-suite or private facilities including: Tea & coffee making facilities, TV with freeview, ironing facilities available by request, hair-dryer by request, fresh towels, complimentary toiletries and free WiFi internet access in the public areas on the ground floor. We are also available for private dining and private functions please contact us for details to make your celebration a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Saddle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Bells Hotel Chester
The Saddle Inn Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing