We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chester
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I enjoyed a really lovely weekend in a very wet Chester recently when I stayed with my partner at this hotel. There were two outstanding things about this establishment. Firstly the location is excellent for exploring the city on foot. You really are a stone throw from "the Rows" and the Cathedral. Secondly the breakfast is terrific - all the standard fare ranging from full English to continental but the thing that really impressed me was the perfectly poached eggs served promptly to your table. I also found the staff were very helpful and courteous.

The hotel parking was a bit tricky....perhaps it was just the weekend of the Jubliee or perhaps Chester is difficult at the best of times but getting your car into the hotel's limited lot seems a bit of a lottery. The only other annoyance was lack of convenient power points in the room. Not only did I have to push a double seat sofa out of the way to plug in my phone charger but the room's kettle didn't have a dedicated socket either. On top of that the kettle's lead was so short it had to be left on the the floor while in use. - Small details....but all fixable Crowne Plaza

Overall however a pretty good experience

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AishlingKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    555
    170
    46
    35
See reviews for
218
818
34
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I am writing this from this hotel whilst I am staying here. I have paid a lot of money to be in this hotel and they want me to pay £7 per day for wifi access. This is disgusting knowing all other major chains I stay in offer it free.

Stay somewhere else on principle!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onthepiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My husband booked this 1 nights stay for myself and my mum in an executive club room...He paid £185 which included use of the executive club lounge which meant that all soft drinks/tea/coffee where free all day and from 5-8 the bar was opened and you could help yourself to canapés too!!! This was a lovely surprise as he hadn't told us,it made our trip really special!!!
The only unfortunate part was that we had booked through laterooms.com,and we'd requested a twin room which was not allocated to us,we had to have a double instead...We did complain and they delivered a complimentary bottle of wine to our room,that was very much appreciated but having twin beds would of been preferred!!!!

Room Tip: Check booking if you book with laterooms.com or booking.com as requests for certain rooms are not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimguck30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked the Crowne Plaza through 'Booking.com' as we arrived at the Crowne Plaza we found the building looked a bit shabby on the outside which was disappointing however when we entered the building it was lovely. We checked in and made our way to the room upon which we was welcomed with a pack which had details about the room and an advertisement of an offer running from the 27th of May until the 2nd of September 2 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal for £229 we paid £226 for 2 nights room only. We made our way to reception to see how we could transfer to this deal, the first receptionist didn't even know the deal was on and passed me on to her manager to discuss I advised we have booked through 'Booking.com' upon which the mood changed I was told in no uncertain terms that nothing could be done, when I said I was not made aware of the deal through 'Booking.com' who guarantee to give the best rate and this seemed to be a bit unfair I was told that it is not fair that I booked through 'Booking.com' instead of booking through the hotel I was informed that the hotel has to pay horrendous commission charges I was told by the receptionist that I should have booked through them direct and basically .as I had used 'Booking.com' it was tough however what they could offer me is a £36 voucher for £45 worth of food, talk about adding insult to injury !!! Before my booking I had checked the Crowne Plaza website and there is no mention of this deal and by booking through 'Booking.com' I had only got a slightly better deal, I have since checked the Crowne Plaza website and there is still no details about this offer so unless you have the ability to second guess how would you ever know it was on!!! This was a real dampener, times are hard at the moment so knowing you could have paid and extra £3.00 to cover breakfast and evening meals was a real downer. The hotel well our room looked like the bed had not been made, the room was boiling we had to have the aircon on all night, the pillows are like lead and the window ledge was dirty, the water on the Saturday night was cold and the shower is like showering under a dribble, the plugs are under the unit so you have boil the kettle on the floor and crawl under a dusty unit to plug in your hairdryer then bend down to dry your hair, I used their hairdryer thinking that the wire might be longer, no such luck I felt maybe we were given a room that was worthy of a 'Booking.com' customer !! I have stayed in better Travelodges . I am very disappointed both with the hotel and 'Booking.com' I feel very let down with the customer service we recieved the receptionist just wanted to sell vouchers and get us to join 'Priority Members' which we did, this allows you have a late check out of 2pm my husband went to pay the bill at 10am this morning and said we would be checking out in about an hour or so, within 2 mins of paying the bill I got a message on the TV to say we had checked out, the tv then went dead, check out was done!! We packed up a left - will I return doubt it !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudithChalmers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights 31/5 and 1/6 in a King Size Exec room on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate of £175.00 per night.
The entrance does not do the hotel justice as it is covered by the concrete canopy of the hotel car park. Once inside the fabulous chandelier dominates reception. All the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable.
Our 3rd floor exec room was nearest to the lifts but we didn't hear a peep from the lift or passing guests from inside.
The bed was massive ! At least 8' maybe 9' wide. The little extras really made us feel valued and there was a genuine passion for quality of service , chocolates, complimentary sparkling and still water each day but the best little extra was the relaxing pillow fragrance and aromatherapy roll on to apply to pulse points at bed time.
Plenty of storage space if you're staying for a couple of nights.
Exec lounge was quite small but tastefully decorated, with a work station, tv, daily newspapers , and a choice of canapés , bottled Fosters, bottled Carlesberg, red wine, chilled white wine, a good selection of sparkling and still water, J2o, coke, diet coke and ( if it's your thing ) WKD , although the stocks if WKD appeared to be untouched during our stay, I think tinned Gordon's G and T and other ready mixed gin / whisky/ vodka or rum drinks would appeal more to the clientele. Generous hours 5pm til 8pm. Gina who kept our glasses charged was lovely , very knowledgeable in respect to the area and a credit to the hotel.
The gym was small but ideally equipped for a quick cardio session before heading up to the lounge and again attention to detail with a fridge full of chilled face towels were very refreshing after 30 mins on the treadmill! The pool is small but the temperature perfect and I loved sitting in the jacuzzi basking in the sunshine from the glass atrium.
The food was excellent. The DBB provided us with a £23.00 allowance. On my first night I had the duck starter which I'm sure comprised a whole duck breast lightly forked and served warm. Delicious. I tried to be good on the 1st night and opted for the 'fish' salad. The fish was a large salmon fillet served warm draped in asparagus. I washed it down with a very nice chocolatey merlot at £6.50 for a large glass , mmmmmm !
My husband had the ham hock starter which was very good and the mixed grill which was so good I opted for it on the second night, the quality of the meat was top class and the preparation and presentation faultless. Jack , our waiter on both nights , was great fun. There is a real , almost family like, feel to the hotel. All the staff seem very proud to be associated with the hotel and Jack seemed very proud of the hotel's reputation and standing both in the city and within the IHG ( the hotel group)
The location of the hotel is central with the tour bus station a few feet from the door and the main shopping streets only a block away. Parking was very reasonable at £7.50 per night.
I can't wait to go back. It's a bit pricey at times, if we had wanted a third night we would have been charged £220.00 for the Saturday.
And one final note to 'The Management' we observed 2 'Bosses from Head Office' in the restaurant on Thursday night. Their talk, as expected, was of cost cutting, a review of existing standards and opportunities to keenly maintain profits in a difficult climate. Your chef defended his menus and choices and would not compromise , another indication of the pride your staff have in their degree of service and how you value your customers..... Please don't change anything !
We are 2 of the 'squeezed middle' . We don't go away as often as we used to. While we used to have a weekend away every month it's now once every 3 or 4 months. I can't wait to come back to your hotel where we felt like truly valued customers. Our every requirement was anticipated and expectations surpassed. If I have 3 or 4 weekends away I want to spend a little extra of my money on being pampered and a little over indulgence. Please don't change !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartandoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chester? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Property: Crowne Plaza Chester
Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,974 - ₹ 14,184
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing