We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“our wonderful weekend in chester and north wales FROM THE STAFFORD HOTEL” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stafford Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stafford Hotel
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Chester
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our wonderful weekend in chester and north wales FROM THE STAFFORD HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

i have travelled all over europe in all kinds of accomodation so i am a reasonable judge .we cold called on this hotel and was greeted very well by the excellent staff, we wanted a cheap weekend break so we went for a 2 star option but we got far more than what we bargained for,we used the hotel as a base for the sights of chester and north wales .our experience was absolutley fantastic . the hotel was very clean ,very tidy and the staf were very very helpful to accomadate any of our requests or queries we had a lovely double room for £30 which did exactly what we needed the next day we had a good full english breakfast ,the helpful staff even put us intouch with a fantastic local spa day for £6 each . i cant say enough good things about the whole experience. thankyou so much THE STAFFORD HOTEL

Room Tip: after going all over the hotel iam pretty sure this hotel has the same excellent standard in each ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    28
    20
    20
    31
See reviews for
10
53
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have stayed many times at the Stafford and find it the best value in Chester. I was there this weekend and have to say there was no such noise after 1am which I thought was most acceptable. The manager and staff are always pleasant and helpful and go out of their way to be accommadating to myself and other guests. Some rooms are a little dated but find them clean and welcoming and breakfast is great. I'll keep staying there when in Chester.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trottytru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Comfortably the worst hotel we've stayed at ever. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful, but the owner, well, I don't believe an owner would be so unsympathetic or unproffesional when she promised me at 2 am that the singing, shouting and door slamming would stop. At 4.40am I got dressed, went downstairs to complain and was told that the person causing trouble had done it before and they had just got rid of him. Why let him in then. I asked for a refund and she said ok if we left there and then. We managed 2 hours sleep and needless to say the manager was "at home" by that time. For the sake of 1 night I can put up with insufficient tea, milk, coffee and toilet roll but not cleanliness and certainly not a manager who puts the wishes of a few private friends in the hotel bar above those of paying guests. I am self employed and I value each and every one of my clients as without them I have no business. Needless to say, on future visits to Chester we will go nowhere near the Stafford. At the time of booking it was the only hotel that had rooms available, No wonder.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, anywhere. Park bench would be quieter and more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed here last night, really can not understand some people on here!!! i payed £40 for my self and partner which included breakfast !!excellent value!! , the room was well fitted, especially the en suite, clean and tidy, bed was comfy. Staff were smiley, extremely helpful (especially when somebody forgets shampoo) and friendly, I stay in hotels regularly due to work and normally stay with macdonald hotels, i stayed here due to cancellation and will definitely be returning when i'm due in chester again.

Just had to review this place after seeing all the negativity, think people need to take in-to consideration the room rate before slating it. if you want to be waited on hand and foot go to the Grovsner and pay £220 a night! YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-PRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Had a great time in this basic but very friendly hotel. The room was comfortable and the breakfast great, as was the service in the bar. I paid £50.00 for a Saturday night and would certainly stay here again. Great location and good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#42 of 45 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
0.2 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#15 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford Hotel

Property: Stafford Hotel
Address: City Road, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,185 - ₹ 7,345
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Stafford Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing