We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect, thank you!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Douglas Cottage

Douglas Cottage designed & built by Chester`s renowned architech John Douglas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Douglas Cottage designed & built by Chester`s renowned architech John Douglas
Welcome to Douglas Cottage Romantic fairytale gothic architecture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Douglas Cottage designed & built by Chester`s renowned architech John Douglas
Welcome to Douglas Cottage
Romantic fairytale gothic architecture
Living room
A warm welcome awaits you
It`s time to book your stay at Douglas Cottage
Elegant dining room with door leading to courtyard garden
Elegant dining
Breakfast bar leading into kitchen area equiped with high end appliances
Kitchen leading to utility room and ground floor WC
Kitchen
Breakfast awaits
Winding staircase at first floor level
Master Bedroom, first floor
Master Bedroom featuring turret relaxation area
Single first floor bedroom
Bathroom serving first floor
Feature stair case with ornate skylight
Second Floor Twin Bedroom
Second Floor Twin Bedroom En-suite
Dining room french windows opening to courtyard garden
Relax in the tranquil court yard garden
Court yard garden
Outlook to roses in court yard garden
Douglas Cottage awarded a certificate of excellence
Romantic fairytale gothic architecture
John Douglas Architech
Chesters East Gate Clock Designed by John Douglas, Less than 5 minutes walk
Location Map of Douglas Cottage Chester City Centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Carys66
Torquay, Australia
1 review
“Just perfect, thank you!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thanks to Barbara and Andrew for welcoming us warmly to your cottage. It was a perfect way to spend our last week of travels before returning to Australia. We were back home visiting Chester to see family and friends. Travelled with our two adult children and there was plenty of space for us all. Bath Street is a fantastic spot. Close to everything and it was great to walk the walls again, something Graham and I used to do every Sunday when we were teenagers. Nice to have parking at the front of the house and if we didn't get a spot in the evening after a day out, we parked around the corner and moved the car when a spot became available, which didn't take very long. The cottage was immaculate, and the basket of goodies left was most appreciated, many thanks. Lots of thought has been put into making sure you have everything you need from a first aid kit to washing powder and plenty of tea and coffee. I would recommend a stay at Douglas Cottage to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael07...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT except the parking situation”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a very friendly welcome, the house was very clean in a TOP condition and ( city) location. Not cheap but it`s the money worth. This place is highly recommendable for a family with two kids.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Douglas Cottage has a superb central location within Chester City centre, few yards from all amenities and attractions eg shops, restaurants, Grosvernor Park, River Dee, Roman amphitheatre, famous rows etc. Therefore parking is by permit supplied at no extra cost ( guests must display the permit in the car windscreen )

A warm welcome awaits you at Douglas Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy1870...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, amazing cottage in the centre of Chester”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just stayed at Douglas Cottage for 3 nights. We were met by Barabara & Dave, the cottage exceeds the photo's on the holiday lettings website.

It is very beautiful, and pristine. You feel like your the only people to have stayed there! We were left a welcome basket which was extremly handy. The cottage has everything you could possibly need, with lovely touches that you would get in a hotel!

Out 14 year old daughter and her friend were very happy with the top floor bedroom and bathroom!! As it is so close to town they could go off and shop by themselves. There is also a waitrose just around the corner.

The master bedroom is very calming, So impressed with it that Barabara is sending me a sample of the paint (bless her!)

Very comfortable stay, they have thought of everything.

Can recommend Hickorys restaurant by the river, not far from the cottage either!

Will defintely be returning (without the teenagers)! Wouldn't hestiate to recomend this award winning cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asea1
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent cottage set in a good location”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very welcoming owners to greet us when we got there, left us a breakfast hamper for us to enjoy and the holiday accommodation itself was excellent. We have recommended to our friends and family and hope to come back to stay in the cottage very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location of property and its character
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbin23
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the cottage for 2 nights in May. The cottage is in a fantastic location in Chester city centre. It had everything we needed and more. The cottage was extremely welcoming and comfortable and we were surprised and delighted that we were provided with a hamper of basic food which meant we did not need to go shopping. This was a lovely touch!
I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing