We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,550)
Filter reviews
3,550 results
Traveller rating
1,630
1,070
503
212
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,630
1,070
503
212
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the marco pierre white restaurant mpw restaurant double tree warm cookies hoole hall outdoor jacuzzi on arrival spa facilities presidential suite garden restaurant lovely hotel garden room great spa my partner building work lovely grounds steam room
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 3,550 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

I recently stayed at this propety for meeting friends at Chester. The hotel is less than 5 minutes by taxi to/from the station. As you approach the grounds you are amazed by the scenery surrounding you and great to have a drink outside in the terrace garden. I managed to check in early and was greeted by Daneille. I had an issue on my side of things in check in but Daneille was very understanding, while I sorted this matter. She was going above and beyond for all guests and is a complete Star for the hotel. All the staff i spoke to were polite. My room was clean and well maintained on the 2nd floor. Loved the Crabtree & Evelyn products in the bathroom - My only bug bare was lack of power sockets and usb sockets in the room but thats just me been picky. The hotel was extremly busy but was covered well but the team especially with the Hot weather.

Thanks for a lovely stay, I hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank bruceybhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Bruce H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and also for your lovely, positive review of your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our team to be polite, especially Danielle. She is very appreciative for your kind words and that she made a positive impression on you.

Should your travels bring you back to Chester in the future we would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a family of four at this lovely hotel, mid July. Arrived after a long day travelling through Wales from Holyhead to the hotel. Was greeted by a lovely receptionist and received warm cookies before heading to our deluxe room. Opened the door to the most beautiful room, so modern and clean. Lovely bed very comfortable, tv in the middle of the room that could be turned to face the sofa bed for the kids. Bath room was great, nice sink and shower. Mirror in bathroom also great. Most beautiful carpet in the room and corridors also. Mini fridge in the room under the desk. Kettle with tea/coffee in a cupboard. Beside the wardrobe. Room was spacious for the four of us.
Decided to try the garden resturant for dinner at 9pm, hadn't booked a table but not a problem. Worried we might have a long wait on food after reading other reviews but food was served in a reasonable time. Food was very nice and resturant was tastefully decorated also. Staff all very friendly. Plus with the outside seating it was nice to go out after we had finished for a walk. Breakfast was also served here, great choice to chose from and with the large windows and doors around the resturant it was lovely to look outside while having breakfast. We had a walk around the grounds outside the hotel which are beautiful also. Parking at hotel also was no bother. We were sorry we had only booked one night as we had a really nice time here, staff all very friendly, hotel is so tastefully decorated and clean. So handy to Chester. Could not fault a thing and yes we will be back for a longer stay next time!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank q1jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear q1jay,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the opportunity to share your lovely review of your time here. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all areas of our hotel that you chose to visit, and that you found our team members to be friendly and helpful.

Should you travels bring you back to Chester in the future we would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

We've used this hotel before when visiting the zoo - just a 5 minute drive away. Comfortable spotlessly clean rooms and a great pool / spa to enjoy. The outdoor hydrotherapy pool is a epreal treat. Previously dined at the Marco Pierre White outlet, but found this closed on the Monday night we stayed this time - even though the property website and in room information states this is open - so we dined in the garden restaurant. Food was ok, but nothing really special - service friendly but slow and disorganised. Keith Lemon was dining with his entourage at the table next to ours, and they were also left waiting for the best part of an hour...... Really needs some management intervention if they are looking to attract positive reviews for this part of the operation.... Not cheap either.
The breakfast buffet in contrast was very good - food piping hot and plenty of choice. Better staffed to.
Overall a comfortable base, but if we stay again we may chose to drive into town for dinner.

Room tip: Hilton Honors members may get an upgrade
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Mark R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your constructive suggestions for improvement are gratefully accepted, as we are always seeking ways to improve what we offer in terms of both service and facilities.

Should your travels bring you back to Chester we would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Stayed two nights at this hotel, two adults and two children. Room was described as a delux room which was actually very standard. One super King and one sofa bed! Only one bathrobe for four people, only two cups for four people and they scrimped with the toiletries. Only a choice of tea and coffee (no hot chocolate) no biscuits, all of which should be standard and which we have received in a less superior hotel. Kept awake both nights with neighbouring doors banging and children running up and down the corridor in the early hours of the night.
We paid £590 for this hotel!!!
Not the quality they advertise, disappointed and ripped off.

Room tip: This hotel is adverse not Delux
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Davis2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Davis2104,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your time here at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester.

We are obviously disappointed to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We always urge our guests to make us aware if anything can be improved during their stay, giving us the opportunity to Make it Right. It is frustrating to hear that the actions of some of our other guests disturbed your sleep.

Should your travels bring you to this area again in the future we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again, when I am confident that your stay would be much improved.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Booked for my mother’s 50th birthday via spabreaks.com. Was greeted by friendly staff at reception with a welcome cookie which was lovely and a nice surprise. Room was ready at 1pm which was very helpful and again a nice surprise. The room was a standard double room, only bad thing I have to say was the beds weren’t very comfy. The pool and thermal facilities were clean. There was a pool with two swim lanes, an inside jacuzzi which ventures outside (there is a cover when it rains) which is lovely and warm, sun beds, a sauna, and two steam rooms. I had the restore treatment by Ashley which was lovely and relaxing and she made me feel at ease, my mother had a scalp and foot treatment which she thoroughly enjoyed.
We followed this win a 3 course meal in the Marco Pierre white restaurant. The service was good, the food was gorgeous, no complaints at all. Breakfast was served in a buffet style and was lovely. Standard full English, cakes, toast, cereal, fruit, tea, coffee and fruit juices.
Overall absolutely loved our stay and would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeChester, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Sarah C,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your mums 50th birthday with us and we are so grateful that you have taken the time to share such a lovely review of your stay.

We are delighted to hear that all areas of our hotel that you chose top visit exceeded your expectations and that you would definitely return in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews