We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning hotel for a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

we stayed here for one night in a deluxe room that was on offer as the brasseire was being refurbished ,parking is in shopping centre car park at a reduced rate of £8 per night

we was greeted by the doorman who was very smartly dressed in top hat and tails , we checked in , i was told that if my credit card details had been kept incase we used the minibar , and if anyone smoked (which we dont anyway) in the room there would be a charge of £150 ,
we then walked up the grand stairs to our room i had asked for one on 2nd floor at front of hotel as nice view of chester street , the room was lovely , it had marble entrance floor and in the bathroom , and a doorbell on the door which was pressed when the staff brought our bags up , bed was huge and really comfy .
there was a huge mini bar with champagne and beer , soft drinks and nibbles and sweets .
we never touch any as new it would be expencive ( £42 for half a bottle of champagne )

we then went out for dinner in chester ,
We then thought we would have a drink in the bar of the hotel , the bottled beer was only £3.50 a bottle and the bar man brought us some cashew nuts and crisps in a bowl free , very nice touch we thought .
there is brandy at £495 a shot if your loaded on the menu ,
when we returned the staff had been in the room , closed the curtains and turned down the covers they had also left a bottle of water by each side of the bed , was not sure if we drunk it i would be charged so didnt touch it . we opted for the free continental breakfast and it was very nice , smoothies, fresh juice , cereals, youguts, toast and pasteries ,
As we had never stayed in a five star hotel before it put me a bit on edge in case i was charged for anything, or broke anything , on all it was a lovely hotel , but felt more comfortable staying at the golf hotel a few miles away.
The staff went out of there way to be nice , but you would expect that being 5 star.
on all it was a nice experience as on a offer but unless on a offer or i win the lotto would not return as too pricey.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room , as view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,048 - 2,052 of 2,416 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed for just one night however, the Chester Grosvenor did not disappoint. Wonderful food and service in the refurbished Brasserie finished off a wonderful day that included a visit to the SPA. Attention to detail must be the prime focus for all the staff, who go the extra mile to ensure that your experience will be one to remember.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

5th visit and never been disappointed. Rooms always immaculate, staff totally professional even though quite a few were on placement and not being paid. Everybody should dine in the Simon Radley Resaurant at least once.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have stayed at the Chester Grosvenor many times over the last few years and we love it. We have also been fortunate enough to have eaten in the Simon Radley, the Arkle Bar (formerly the Library) and the Brasserie. We visited the hotel for a Spa today and called in at the newly-refurbished Brasserie for lunch. On the positive side, the room is noticeably brighter and they have done away with the rather superfluous central bar, moving it to a more suitable place where you can relax with a drink. On the negative side, although the room is brighter they have packed in slightly too many tables which means that it isn't private enough - you certainly hear what other peoiple are saying. The service is more impersonal than it used to be - the place has got much busier, which I am sure the hotel is pleased about. However, as an experience, it isn't as special as it used to be. The prices remain high, which we expected, but the portions seem to be shrinking, which we didn't! We had the Tuna Nicoise, which coinsisted of a reasonable portion of tuna (very nice) but accompanied by 2 green beans, 1 olive, 2 pieces of sundried tomato, 3 rocket leaves, what must have been two new potatoes crushed up with mayo and chives, a smear of tapenade, and one quail egg. While we didn't expect a plateful, we were surprised at how sparse the plate looked when it arrived. Needless to say, no bread to accompany it. With two apples juices, this cost us £32. It honestly looked like it could have been a starter in the Simon Radley rather than a main course in the brasserie. We were very disappointed, and will not be hurrying back for a repeat performance. If we did go, we would consider eating in the Arkle bar as this is a far more luxurious setting and much quieter - as befitting the 5 star status of the hotel.

On a positive note, we noticed that the complementary slippers in the spa have reverted to the older, classier variety rather than the cheap and nasty foam ones that had been adopted for a while. Perhaps the hotel reads these reviews, or perhaps an accountant has found another job somewhere else...?

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, don't choose one facing the main street as this gets full of clubbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bazinga01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Delay in posting this review but feel the need to.
I took my wife to the hotel to celebrate her birthday. And have to say from the arrangements prior - flowers champagne in room - to leaving we were thoroughly looked after.
The ambience of the hotel and amenities are excellent. We have stayed before. And every time we come away we always say that we must do it more often.
Made even better by the fact that our daughters stayed with us on the Saturday evening to make the weekend - running into mothers day really special
A special mention to charlotte who really made sure everything was just right for both our arrival and that of our daughters. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Peterhigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
8.3 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
697 reviews
0.6 km away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,134 reviews
2.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: ₹ 12,543 - ₹ 27,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester
The Chester Grosvenor Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing