We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Brookside for Xmas shopping.Could'nt get a room direct so went on Bookings.com and obtained a double room through their website.Tip,If we had rang the hotel they may have sorted a room out for us. outIdeal location,only a 10 minute walk into town.We had room 26 on the top floor.Lovely room although for me would had prefered a larger room.Only a couple of faults. With the room being on the top floor the ceiling had rafters which made it a bit low.No bath only a shower which made a lot of noise when switched on.Had a meal in the restaurant on both nights as couldn't get a reservation for Saturday night in all the popular restaurants probably due to Xmas.The meals were excellent,good choice and really value for money.Finally could,nt get a more helpfull staff which made our stay relaxingThanks Ian for the football results.Would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.Might be worth asking at time of booking if the room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbob001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    138
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
61
203
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed here 14/15 Nov. Friendly and clean this hotel was a bit old/fashioned but in a charming way. Great value for money we found the room and bed comfortable and got a good nights sleep. The breakfasts were big servings and toast was plentiful. Location is only around a ten/fifteen minute walk to town no need for taxis. Enjoyed our time in Chester its a stunning town. Would return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My boyfriend took me for my 21st birthday present to the Brookside Hotel and it was fantastic. We stayed in a small double room, and it was so cosy. The room was very very clean, had champagne on ice when we arrived! (that was an extra obviously) It's close to the city and the staff couldn't have been any nicer. The receptionist (Katrina i think?) was so helpful, as was Richard, and a fellow who helped us with booking tickets and bus times behind the reception (man with glasses?) The breakfast was very tasty, but unfortunately we didn't try the restaurant at night, which we would certainly do on our next trip. The hotel honestly made our trip and we couldn't ask for anymore. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We spent two nights in Chester and were welcomed warmly at Brookside. The room was quiet and we had a very good sleep. Breakfast was plentiful and kept us going for a large part of the day. We would come back here, when visiting Chester again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had booked for my one nights stay in Chester and so when I found that the conveniently located Premier Inn was full I was directed to Brookside.
A very warm welcome on arrival and a very nice room.
I ate in their restaurant and the food was simple and good, with friendly service.
My room had a newly fitted bathroom which was very nice.
Free WiFi too.
The only negative was the breakfast, apparently locally sourced produce (from the local Supermarket cheap isle is my guess)
This did not spoil my stay and I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.2 km away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
1.0 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,797 - ₹ 12,202
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing