We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal ”
Review of The Egerton Arms

The Egerton Arms
Ranked #50 of 608 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We booked here as an alternative to our regular Brunning & Price haunts after reading the reviews. I have been before but not for about 15 years!! We were not disappointed.
Great menu with lots of choice including some lovely seafood choices.
We went with our 7 year old son who was warmly welcomed though I know they prefer no young children after 7pm.
We all had 3 courses, no option for kids starters on the otherwise excellent children's menu, though we ordered some bread which he happily munched on!
Brie, mussels, lasagne and children's fish and chips all excellent. Chocolate Brownie, strawberry Eton mess and a nice cheese board finished off a lovely meal in delightful, classy, but not too stuffy surroundings.
Highly recommended and we will definitely return. The outside area looked gorgeous too!
Only 15 mins from our home in Wrexham too.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Kellibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Popped in while passing on a day out. The place itself is full of old world charm. Clean and many private tabled areas. Staff were not very welcoming and service was very slow. We waited 20 minutes for a drink despite only having a handful of people in the bar area and three tables of two seated for lunch. The ploughman's lunch was average compared to other venues I have visited and quite pricey for what you got on the plate. The gammon meal was very disappointing. Chips were undercooked. The plate was swimming with peas that had not been drained properly and the pineapple looked as if it was the last small sliver eeked out from the fruit - paper thin and minute. There was no tomato side salad or mushroom. For just under fifteen pounds the plate and food was very meagre, howbeit the gammon was nice. A glass of soda water was one pound twenty wher most places give you this free and two small pepsi was five pounds twenty.We told the waitress about the gammon meal. Her response was to roll her eyes say oh really and walk away!!!! Suggest they give their staff some customer service training and review their prices .

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Just popped in for lunch with my family, very nice old pub, staff very friendly. Food spot on, our daughter had children's sausage & mash, they was lovely pork & leek sausages, my husband had rack of lamb cooked perfect & I had chicken & leek pie very nice but wish I'd order mash instead of the chips that come with it. Not bad value for home cooked food. Would call again.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank moanalotme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Popped in to the Egerton Arms for a midweek business lunch and it was very good.

Good, quiet ambience with private areas for a confidential chat...there was a friendly welcome, free WIFI, decent food (albeit a little bit pricey for what it is, in my opinion) and plenty of free parking.

Opens from noon

Will go again (as long as it is on expenses)

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Booked a table to meet up with family and friends.
A relaxed atmosphere and a good size table located in a position where we could move around easily to chat to one another.
Good choice of food with a light lunch menu to choose from as well as the main menu. Food came piping hot and was presented very nicely.
Good choice of wine served in a glass size carafe which was novel.
A good time was had by us all.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank JaR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Egerton Arms also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Egerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing