We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
1,024 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile



You will not get many hotels right in the center of Chester unless it is the reasonably priced Commercial or the expensive Grosvenor. Nestled away behind the shops on Northgate Street and Watergate Street the Commercial is very well placed for shops, restaurants and Rosie's Nightclub. Walk out the door and walk 40 feet down a passage to the shops. The rooms are few but  fairly well equipped. We had room 1, 'Shelley'. The bed was very comfortable with a nice large bathroom and stylishly furnished bedroom. The bar area is large with outside seating front and rear and some canopies.

We woke at 4am due to the 'clubbers' leaving Rosie's nightclub, screaming and chanting. This was followed at about 5am by the dragging of wheelie bins over the cobbles, and then around 7am beer barrels being moved from the next door pub and the delivery of new beer barrels. Maybe we were just unfortunate!!

Overall, nice hotel, great location, staff very friendly and informative from arrival to departure.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the bins / barrels, it's our only downfall of being in the city centre! As you rightly said though, it's also a perfect loctaion for the shops and restaurants. I'm glad to hear that you're overall stay was enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    79
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
37
190
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely 2 night stay in the Byron suite. Very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with a great shower and bath. All accomodation was spotlessly clean. The freshly cooked breakfast (by Ruth) is one of the best breakfasts you'll ever eat and sets you up perfectly for the day ahead.
The manager (Rebecca) was extremely helpful. We found ourselves having to stay an extra night in Chester, and although The Commercial was fully booked, Rebecca very kindly phoned nearby hotels and found us another room.
The hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of Chester, and is located up a lane to the rear of the Skipton Buiding Society, so is quiet, despite being in the heart of the action. We stayed midweek and had a very peaceful stay. The hotel website does advertise that it has a late licence (3am) at the weekends so I would expect it could be noisy til the early hours while the music is on.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return to Chester, and to The Commercial Hotel in particular, in the near future.
Thank you Rebecca and co for a wonderful stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Amanda, thank you so much for taking the time to write. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon I hope? I hope the other hotel suited your needs and the journey home was pleasant? Thank you once again and best wishes, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Really enjoyed our two night break at the Commercial,having struggled to find the right area following the hotel post code on Tom tom,we decided on plan B and went straight to the Market car park which is found via Princess St ( not cheap but only 5 mins walk with bags)
A lovely welcome from Rebecca, and the offer of a quick coffee during checkin settled my frazzled brain ( the streets around the hotel are pedestrianised and Sat Nav didnt like it )
Our room ,Wordsworth was very comfortable with a comfy bed and lovely large bathroom and walk in shower.
Following my usual sad approach to lots of researching for our breaks,it had become obvious that we did not need to go on the lively Friday and Saturday nights on club disco events ,therefore we chose Sunday and Monday nights and slept with no issues at all.
Breakfast was fine for me,freshly cooked hot stuff with toast and the usuals,the other half missed her porridge or fresh grapefruit and all the cold buffet items normally seen at the larger places.
Nevertheless it must be recognised there are only four rooms,and it is impossible to lay on everything,only to throw it out later.
The excellent central location has to be the main positive at this hotel,there really are some excellent eating and drinking places within 5 mins walk.
We will certainly be returning on another visit as we didnt get to visit the Zoo due to lousy weather
For a special occasion do try to eat at Upstairs at the Grill,def not cheap but top drawer food and service

Room Tip: Wordsworth was very nice,but up four lots of steps with no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huddsguy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time in our fair city and I agree, we are fortunate to have such a central location. Thank you for your understanding regarding our breakfast selection, it's true to say with only 4 rooms and the suite we cannot cater for all needs without wasting fresh produce. Should you stay again please do not hesitate to contact us and we will arrange any special requests. Kind regards Rebecca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great location, and the staff are lovely -- the hotel is nice (great bathrooms), but the music and voices blared for two of the three nights we stayed here (until midnight one night and until 4 am on "mic" night). Since they don't have central air, you have to leave the windows open. Can't see how a family with children -- or really anyone -- can stay here. They need to decide whether they are a hotel or a bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraElizabeth2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Laura Elizabeth, thank you for your review.
I must firstly address your points regarding the noise levels. As I have mentioned in previous Trip advisor replies, we advertise the DJ's on all our sites to prevent upsets such as this.
When people call us directly we give them the chance to find alternative accommodation if they do not want a busy City Centre Hotel. With booking.com and laterooms it is advertised on the hotel policy page under Important Information, unfortunately we cannot do more than this.
We are in the middle of Chester's City Centre and after we close there are other places with later licenses who's clientèle may create additional noise on the street.
Open Mic night is the Thursday and finishes at midnight, weekends are later but never until 4am except on New Years Eve or a Bank Holiday.
In answer to your last point, we know who we are. We are a small hotel with a public bar that at weekends offers people the chance to forget their weeks work, let their hair down and have a dance. The majority of people stay with us for this reason and I am happy to say that we have a huge amount of repeat guests.
We are not for everyone, but if people read the reviews about the noise they can decide whether we are the place for them before making their reservation and then writing negative comments.
If you would like to contact me directly to discuss any of these points I would be happy to receive your call. 01244 409319.
Kind Regards, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

On arrival we where told it had a late licence, but did not expect the music to be still going on at 4am. Was in Chester with my mam who is in her 60s so the both of us had no sleep what's so ever. On checking out they where going to charge me £65 extra for meals which we never had. The rooms where very nice apart from the stair carpet which was dirty.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room Shelley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Carol, in response to your review may I start with apologising for the confusion with the £65 food charge. It was for a buffet that should have been put onto room 10 and was mistakenly put onto room 1 (Shelley) I believe this was rectified on check out?
Regarding the carpet, as you know it was Chester races on Saturday and very busy. Due to the rain and the footfall we had alot of wet feet treading through the hotel and it certainly showed, especially on the carpet. The cleaners were waiting until everyone had check out before cleaning the stairs to prevent any further footfall and to give the carpet time to dry.
Your room, Shelley is on the first floor and so noise travels on a Friday and Saturday night from the dance floor but I must disagree with you on the timings, we have a 3am licence and the music was turned off at 3.10am.
We advertise the DJ's on all our sites to prevent upsets such as this. When people call us directly we give them the chance to find alternative accommodation if they do not want a busy City centre hotel, with booking.com and laterooms it is advertised on the hotel policy page under Important Information, unfortunately we cannot do more than this.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I hope this has answered your questions. Kind regards Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
722 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.3 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,634 reviews
0.3 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 44 in Chester
1,132 reviews
0.7 km away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Property: The Commercial Bar & Hotel
Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,708 - ₹ 11,499
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing