We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has been done very well and was pleasant surprise when we arrived. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were early so they stored our case until check on time. When we saw the room it was made up as a twin room, so we mentioned we had booked a double the staff were quick to change it for us. We parked at the ajecent car park which was closed overnight and cost 10.80 for just over 24hrs.
A very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Texmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at The Bull and Stirrup Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your review.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked in for saturday night. very impressed staff excellent from storage of cases until room was ready to booking in and out. could not do enough for us. the food was very good and reasonably priced. would definitely stay again. room was small but had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank lesleysP7833CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at The Bull and Stirrup Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to this new Wetherspoons venue, a very nice hotel great location very good staff and the food is good value for money. A rather large venue with lots of tables for eating and drinking but seemed to be filled with over excited students, not that there is anything wrong with that! the venue is situated at the top end of the walk up through Chester Centre but well worth the walk. Prices for beer and food are very competitive considering its a city centre venue.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nadia021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at The Bull and Stirrup Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and would like to say thank you for your kind review and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location lovely room we will be back soon thanks for a great stay will recommend this to family and friends the only downside is no proper reception to check in have to walk in with our suit cases

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank radley693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at The Bull and Stirrup Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for your great review and feed back. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fairly small room but nicely decorated and felt lovely in there, really enjoyed our stay and the location was perfect; only a few mins into the main town at most! Food like any whetherspoons, cheap and cheerful

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank katiej9961997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, Manager at The Bull and Stirrup Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
0.8 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#18 of 45 in Chester
303 reviews
0.5 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,533 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Stirrup Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Stirrup Hotel

Address: 8 Upper Northgate Street, Chester CH1 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range: ₹ 4,942 - ₹ 8,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid-nineteenth century, this ideally placed hotel and pub is situated just 50 metres from the Roman Wall. A minutes walk away you'll find Chester's vibrant City Centre that provides a wide selection of bars, restaurants and shops to suit all tastes. Additionally, we are just a 5 minute walk from the Chester Race Course providing the perfect place to stay for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bull and Stirrup Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Stirrup Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing