We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull and Stirrup Hotel
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Friendly staff, especially Tom at the bar and ?Josh. Immaculate and homely decor. Powerful shower and comfy beds. Tasty full English and veggie breakfast. I shall stay here again. (The road works have finished - September!)

Room Tip: corner room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dona45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your comments i will pass these on both to josh and tom who will be happy to hear this hope to see you again soon.

josh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

staff is very friendly, rooms super clean.
this is an example for lots of hotels that ask for more money and the rooms are under standard.
there were some works on the road but the location was fantastic, the food was very good and the mattress excellent

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank manuelad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your comments we hope to see you again soon.


josh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The room was very modern, clean and of a very good standard. It was in imaculate condition. The bar provided good value food. The hotel location was ideal and the car park in Garden Lane was only 2 minutes away and cost £10 for an overnight stay. I woild defimotely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank keithM2766XV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your comments we hope to see you again soon.


josh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We just popped in for a quick lunch before hitting the city. This is a warm and welcoming pub, typical Wetherspoons, It was quite busy but we still got served quickly. the food arrived without delay and was hot and tasty. We will certainly return here on our next visit to Chester.

Room Tip: Just went for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheTitanTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your comments we hope to see you again soon.


josh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

The hotel room was very modern, well equipped and clean, the walk in shower was lovely, and overall the room was good value for money. However, during our stay roadworks were being carried out directly outside our room which made for a noisy morning awakening! Also, the idea of having to walk directly through the pub to reach reception (situated at the end of the bar) was a little annoying as you had to walk through a crowd of people who were drinking to check in, and then to have to climb the stairs that everybody was using to reach the pub toilets was also a little off putting. However, apart from those few minor details, the stay was enjoyable and good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Rachw117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you for your comments we are working on the checking in process to make it more effeicent for the guests who are staying in the pub, we hope to see you again.

josh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.8 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#33 of 45 in Chester
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#18 of 45 in Chester
305 reviews
0.5 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,541 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull and Stirrup Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull and Stirrup Hotel

Address: 8 Upper Northgate Street, Chester CH1 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range: ₹ 4,992 - ₹ 8,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid-nineteenth century, this ideally placed hotel and pub is situated just 50 metres from the Roman Wall. A minutes walk away you'll find Chester's vibrant City Centre that provides a wide selection of bars, restaurants and shops to suit all tastes. Additionally, we are just a 5 minute walk from the Chester Race Course providing the perfect place to stay for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bull and Stirrup Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Stirrup Hotel Chester, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing