We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
139
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscotton woolcity centrerooms are spotlessly cleanrecommend this guest houserace meetingexcellent accommodationten minute walka great place to staywithin easy walking distancefirst morningenjoyable staylovely roomevening mealtoiletriesracecourse
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Stayed here 22/23 Sept met by the lovely Beryl&Roberta only 5 minutes to town, ideal location. The room was spacious and very clean,Breakfasts were excellent nothing was to-much trouble, Gave me a map of the town 1st class service. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Hello to you both, and sorry for the late response.
It was so nice of you to take time to write a review for R/House, and so pleased that you enjoyed both your visit to Chester & your stay with me.
So if you return to Chester again in the future we will be very pleased to see you.
Have a nice Christmas & New Year,
Beryl & Roberta,

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We have just had a lovely stay at Rowland House. My wife and I and two friends were given a warm welcome by Mrs Rowland and her assistant Roberta. The food was delicious, plentiful and hot. The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious.
Lots of local knowledge and recommendations were given to us about the city itself and good restaurants. Rowland house is about five minutes walk from the town and all it has to offer. All in all, we can thoroughly recommend a stay at this excellent B&B.
There are a lot of places to visit in the area: Chester Zoo, the races,(When they are occuring,) The Wirral area has some lovely coastal walks, Liverpool and North Wales are close by.All in all, we had a great weekend there.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontslouchdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

How nice of you to take time to write a very complimentary review for us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your week-end in Chester, It was a pleasure to have you stay at R/House.
Roberta is now down to cloud 7, so maybe after her holidays she will be back to normal again? after all the laughter and merriment at breakfast time.
So if you ever come to Chester again, we will be so pleased to see you.
Have a nice Christmas, and best wishes to you all.
Beryl & Roberta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Located just on the outskirts of town, took us around 5-10 minutes to walk in. Great welcome everything was ready when we arrived, good to have off road parking. Everything in the room you would expect an more. Breakfast was great. Lovely to chat to both Beryl & Roberta. We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Tracey1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hello Tracy, thank you for taking time to write a much appreciated review, I am so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay @ R/House, and that we may see you both again in the future, Thank you for the gift which arrived in the post.
Take care and we look forward to seeing you both in the not to distant future.
Regards,
Beryl & Roberta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Everything was simply 1st class again. We stayed in the room that was not ensuite as it was not available the first night and Beryl the owner asked if we would like to move for the second night which we did. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely breakfast each day. Everyone was so friendly and we had a good laugh with both ladies. The location is so convenient for Chester High Street it took us about 7 minutes to walk there. We parked our car in the driveway which was really handy. We will definately be back when we visit Chester again.

Room Tip: The B & B has only three guest bedrooms we preferred room 1.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you both for your second visit, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your week-end
stay, and the pleasant company of both guests and staff.
The weather was beautiful which I hope made your visit even more pleasurable,
so we look forward to seeing you both in the not to distant future.
Many thanks,
Beryl & Roberta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Situated in quiet residential street, with off road parking and about 10 mins walk into city centre. The house is spotlessly clean and everything that you need is provided. The owner, Beryl, was fantastically helpful, accommodating and welcoming and we had a wonderful stay for the Chester half marathon. Thank you so much Beryl !

Room Tip: We had room with separate but large private bathroom, which we prefer to en-suite.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sadie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beryl R, Owner at Rowland House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with me, and that you all did well in the half marathon. if you do the full marathon next time maybe you will have a longer stay, and you know where I am if you ever require accommodation in the future.
Best wishes,
Beryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews