We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sizzling chicken tikka and lentil Korai”
Review of Gate of India

Gate of India
Ranked #80 of 625 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Licensed Tandoori Restaurant, Fully Air Conditioned, Soft Music and Easy Parking. Takeaway service available. 10 % discount on takeaway meals before 11pm. We serve the best Indian and English Cuisine. Tandoori Dishes our speciality. Special arrangement for Banquets, Parties, Weddings etc. All prices include VAT.
Reviewed 6 February 2018

The Korai and Balti dishes were superb, full of flavour and good sized portions. The vegetable biryani contained edamame beans, which was an unusual twist, but it worked. Service was attentive, but we were swiftly moved on when we had finished our meal. Table cleared, mints and bill arrived and paid for, all within 5 minutes! There was no offer of dessert. However, we would return.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dona45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2018

We went for a lamb & chicken Kuri tonight at Gate of India Chester and we were both extremely disappointed as both meals were discussing full of suger ans tomatoes and when we told them how bad it was they ignored us, please don't be disappointed like us by going there ... Indian restaurant now they think they can serve anything bad and we will accept it .. because we don't understand Indian food !!!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 1ollie2zach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Yet another beautiful meal from this beautiful curry house. Mixed Thail is very much our favourite but every dish that is delivered to surrounding tables looks amazing.

Very much a typically decorated 80’s Indian restaurant with fabulous attentive staff it’s certainly a must when in Chester.

Will we go back - we do & love it :)

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Allie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Looking for a good curry on Thursday night and came across the Gate of India.
The town was like a ghost town as everywhere was empty including the pubs.
We went in to the Gate of India because it was the only place with people eating in it.
Had a great meal and it was very reasonably priced.
Very friendly staff with great service, thank you.
We would eat here when visiting Chester again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ANTONY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We ate here last week as in Chester for my birthday. Ordered korai dishes as usually fantastic. This was mediocre. Although we are biased as from Birmingham area where the curry is the bomb, this was pretty average and have cooked better myself. Best was the naan bread. Ordered a chilli dish but uncooked chillis in the dish so no flavour whatsoever. Need to be cooked into the sauce for the usual kick. Partner likes spicy but not heat and he found his food bland so tried mine and said he could not taste any heat either. Tried his and it was equivalent of supermarket jar sauce without the flavour. Did not taste like freshly cooked Indian food should. Still left a tip as service very good and staff pleasant. Very glad it’s not my local Indian. Hit and miss when you are away from home and try a new Indian, but I’d advise to walk on by and try somewhere else.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank maxine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gate of India also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Gate of India? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing