We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
334
151
38
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
151
38
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market car park christmas market lovely lunch the pub chester cathedral noisy at night central location hot drinks light sleeper no lift tea and coffee large room room key fantastic location nothing too much trouble stayed for one night lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Been here a few times food is always good it’s clean friendly and service is excellent not to expensive not a large menu but there is something for everyone it is a b&b as well which is good as it’s on the town hall a great place to be for your visit to chester

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Good afternoon, Norma! Wow! What lovely comments thank you so much. We are so glad to hear you love your visits with us so much you keep returning. We always try and have something available for everybody no matter their tastes or dietary requirements! We hope to see you again soon for a meal or maybe even a cheeky drink if you manage to squeeze on in along the way. Kind regards & best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Stayed over after a trip to the theatre. The staff were very helpful, the room was spacious clean and tidy. It was a hot summer evening but the room had a fan and so we kept cool and comfortable, the bed was very large and comfortable. Everything we needed was supplied and the bathroom was spotless. The only comment I would make is the shower could do with a slip mat, my partner is visually impaired and she felt a little nervous on the slippery surface. Otherwise perfect and would recommend it to all.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Good morning, Graham! We are really prime location for theatre visits with only being next door, so well done you for thinking ahead and taking full advantage of this. The fans are a great addition in the summer months as they really do help in such an old building. We do have slip mats available upon requests but I am sorry you weren't told about this. Thank you so much for these wonderful comments and i'm glad to hear we helped make your theatre trip extra special! Kind regards & best wishes and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed here at the weekend as a surprise trip away for my husbands 40th birthday and from start to finish our stay was amazing.

We arrived early and the staff were so helpful they took our bags and kept them safe for us so we could go out and do some shopping. We had our lunch there first before heading out and it was something else. We both ordered Cheese and Ham toasted sandwiches with salad and chips and I was so shocked when it arrived that the ham was proper ham carved off the bone none of this wafer thin stuff.

We headed out and then came back after 3pm to check in which was fine and our bags were returned to us, with the offer to carry them up for us also. We were on the top floor in room 5, this room is so big you could run laps around in it. There was a massive window on one wall where you could sit have a drink and just people watch. The room was lovely and clean, nice big towels, tea and coffee with yummy biscuits.

We didn't eat there in the evening but we did go back there for drinks after our meal out and again service was second to none.

We got up for breakfast which is served until 10:30am and wow is all I can say for the breakfast it was amazing and so filling. We ordered toast and when it came it was proper homemade bread and we pretty much had half a loaf on a plate.

There was some noise at night but you get that being in such a central location, but it didn't effect my nights sleep and for those who are light sleepers the hotel provides ear plugs in the room.

I would recommend The Coach House Inn to anyone and will definitely return. Thank you for helping make my husbands 40th so amazing.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouisaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Good afternoon, Louisa! How lovely that we could help make your husbands birthday so special! Thank you for such wonderful comments, we really are all so overwhelmed by these lovely words. Even if you didn't find the time to eat with us in the evening, we are a lovely original place to have a drink afterwards. Open spaces for people watching just like in room 5! (Personally, my favourite room in the hotel also) Lovely to hear you enjoyed breakfast as much as we enjoy hosting it. We pride ourselves on our plentiful breakfast options as staying in a b&b it really is half of the experience. Thank you for choosing us to help with your milestone celebrations! Now you know you can join us occasion or not and we will still do our very best to make it as special as the last time! An absolute pleasure having you and we can't wait to see you again. Kind regards & best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice and clean place. The staff was extremely friendly and told us about different places we could visit on the way to our next stop. The breakfast was also superb. Could easily have stayed for a night longer.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JacquelineJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Good afternoon, Jacqueline! Wow, what a truly lovely review, Thank you so much for spending the time to write these lovely comments. As you can see from past reviews, our staff do get praised for their helpfulness very often. Breakfast is always a favourite as we try and make sure their are plenty of options to suit everybody. We hope to see you again soon if you can manage to squeeze in another nights stay along the way. Kind regards & best wishes on trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We booked this restaurant last Sunday as family had a meal a few weeks before and recommended it. We were a party of 6 and and placed next to a family party at the back of the restaurant next to a large party.We asked to move which we did. We ordered 3 Roast Pork dinners 2 Fish & Chips and a Vegetarian option. The Fish & Chips was excellent & very tasty. The waitress arrived with 1 Roast Pork Dinners & 2 Pork Chop meals we said we had not ordered chops and where offered a replacement but we had waited 25 minutes so accepted the chops. The Vegetarian option was a Beetroot tart which was very small and dry & also the Asparagus had not been prepared correctly. One Pork Chop was ok but the other was very disgusting & fatty. My main complaint was when we received the bill the Pork Chops where more expensive and when we pointed this out we where told we were offered a replacement. Never again !!!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PamfChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Good afternoon, Pam. I'd firstly just like to thank you for this review. However, when you arrived it was a busy Sunday lunchtime and we accommodated your party number in the restaurant where there is plenty more space for eating. We were able to arrange for your party to then be moved to a quieter corner as you preferred. I apologise about the meal mix up with the waitress, but as you were offered a change and this wasn't accepted then we thought there was no more issue. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order so 25 minutes is a usual waiting time for most meals. The beetroot tart is a very popular dish on our menu and we sold several that day with no other complaints, so I am very surprised to hear this. Our asparagus is prepared the same way everyday and this has never changed, although I do agree we all have our preferences on how vegetables are cooked. With the bill, as all meals were finished and checked back on we couldn't see a means to have meals taken off the bill. All I can do is apologise and i'm sorry you feel this experience is enough for you and your party to not want to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews