We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 185
US$ 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 171
US$ 150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 230
US$ 188
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Cambridge Orchard Park(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$ 172
US$ 138
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cambridge Central Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
380
310
182
90
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
310
182
90
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barwolf blasscinema suitevalet parkingroll top bathmonsoon showerfitzwilliam museumnespresso machinesuperior roommini barunderfloor heatingbirthday treatkings collegea lovely stayboutique hotelwalk in showerafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel is lovely to look at and being in an old building is quirky and full of character but assumed it would also have matching service and standards usually offered for this type of hotel, rating and cost (£325 per night)

Housekeeping was mean if nothing else with no turn down service and only 1 towel per person.

Toiletries were not replaced and only 1 small soap bar offered (shared between basin, shower and bath). Asked for another but had to follow up the next day.

Breakfast very ordinary despite pleasant staff

Lift out of order our entire stay

Threadbare carpet on stairs (these are very dangerous and should be edged with rubber like other stairs in the building)

Hangers that are attached and very Inadequate hanging and draw space.
We had our clothes hanging from curtain rails.

Very little bathroom shelving for toiletries and minimal shelf space in the room. Bath (lovely big
Freestanding bath) and wash basin form part of the room with toilet and shower separated by a door.

Bathroom plumbing was a problem with shower taking ages to drain and recess appearing dirty.

Newspaper offered at check in but for a charge. Not the price - it's the principle.

I accept we are travelling for 5 weeks and have several bags but there was nowhere to unpack our things. It was a room perhaps designed for people visiting students for the weekend.

The whole stay just felt a little style over substance.

Following my comments, the manager advised they are rolling out some refurbishing schemes so perhaps improvements are on the way however certainly for this stay we were most underwhelmed.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank pjb1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear pjb1803,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, as discussed with you in our emails, we are looking at an enhancement project across the property to ensure that we raise our already great standard.

As discussed with you, I have taken the time to make not only my team but also our brand team aware of your comments.

We do thank you for your very kind comments regarding our team and their customer service that you made on check out.

Thanks again Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel du Vin for two nights, when we came to a friends' wedding in Cambridge. Good central location, excellent service, stylish and comfortable room. The breakfast was best we had for a long time - eggs Benedict were amazing.
Parking is easy. Our car was taken away by a dapper gentlemen.
All the staff we encountered were really friendly.
A real gem of a hotel

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank billblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear billblanc,

Thank you for your very kind comments following your stay with us, I am glad to hear that you had a fantastic time with us.

Our valet parking is a real advantage to us in a City with such parking challenges, I am happy that this service worked for you.

Our Eggs Benedict are very good, not something for everyday though!

See you again soon,

Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Soup like hot water, soggy bread trying to be a crouton, under seasoned lamb, and a raw pastry and pear dessert. Pear dessert was taken off the bill.
Complained on line, "we will tell the chef" they just don't care.
Worst meal I have eaten in years. They should be ashamed of providing that standard of food.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank j1jmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

My wife and I needed a central place to stay for a night in Cambridge. Knowing its location and having followed the history of the company, we thought we would give The Hotel du Vin a go. I made our reservation, taking advantage of a dinner, bed and breakfast offer. My concern was then aroused when I noticed that there had been one or two recent unflattering reviews of the establishment on TripAdvisor but we decided to see for ourselves - and we needn't have worried. We were delightfully greeted and given a wonderful generous room on the first floor. Our 3-course prix-fixe dinner was better than it said on the tin and breakfast in the morning was as good as you'll get anywhere. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and polite and those that we engaged in conversation proved to be interesting and intelligent people. The location, for the Fitzwilliam and the academic centre of town cannot be bettered - and if you are lucky you'll find a parking meter almost directly outside the door. What's not to like!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear andrew j,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we all appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to read how much you had enjoyed your stay and in particular your kind words about the team, they really do make all the difference.

Thanks again Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

A very good hotel with super people and service. We were a group of 8 friends and from the moment we entered the hotel Lauren & Sophie were superb. They took excellent care and made each of us feel like VIP's, both are excellent ambassadors for Hotel du Vin. We have to say that we enjoyed our experience here as much as, if not more then when we stayed at the Varsity and will definite stay again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank TravellingTony44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear TravellingTony44,

Thank you for your amazing comments following your stay with us, I am so glad that your group enjoyed their stay.

Sofia and Lauren are truly fantastic members of the team and I am glad that they made you feel so welcome.

We will see you again soon,

Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews