We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Princess charming hotel gone mod” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
NYC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Princess charming hotel gone mod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

After a flight from JFK to LHR and a drive here
Getting lost
What a relief to be mobile -guided by Vera
To leave the car for valet!
A warm welcome waited us
Our Room is charming -bathroom fabulous perfect water
Coffee and tea center of town exposed brick walls.
Not luxury in the sense of a us 5 star hotel but
Fabulous and charming
The. View is. Cleverly blocked by frosty windows . Staircase down to our bathroom flat screen tv. I am happy you should be happy staying here too... If you like charm history and uk cities !
As I do..
Going punting. Now
LAter!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegetawaygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    262
    142
    69
    27
See reviews for
85
462
28
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I treated my parents and in laws to stay here formy graduation ceremony weekend. The hotel staff were very accommodating and even made rooms available early where they could so we could change before heading off to the ceremony. Fabulous old building, oozes character and is utterly inviting. The rooms are well appointed and while I would have expected that little extra to take it to the level of the room rate, I was still pleased we chose to stay. The whole place is beautifully put together and while some may find it a little dark with the decor it is fascinating. It is beautifully centrally located and while there is no hotel parking the hotel will valet park for an overnight fee. We had snacks and drinks in the bar after returning from the graduation ceremony and it was a wonderful bar area, small alcoves, people huddled, intimate conversations, comfortable relaxed seating. One could imagine secret deals, and world changing events taking place in a bar like this, quite mysterious. the breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts ever, lots of great, good quality choices. There was no trouble regarding vegetarian options and good service. A real hub of life and activity. I truly enjoyed my stay here. It is refreshing to stay in a hotel where it is not highly automated, stripped of personality and mechanical in operation. This is a rule friendly, warm, welcoming hotel where you are made to feel like a "guest" rather than a visitor. It compliments the atmosphere and spirit of such a stylish place like Cambridge beautifully. It runs like it has been there forever and is a superb example of what quintessential British hospitality should be like in every hotel across the nation. If you hate the robotic nature of the big chains choose a HDV option if there is one! Loved it .... Would go back just to stay here. The giant choice buttons in the rooms, the magazines scattered in rooms and the library, the friendly welcoming staff, the food, the drinks, the atmosphere makes this a winner!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLillieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is in a great location and only a few minutes walk from the centre of the city. We decided to upgrade to the Cinema Suite and were not disappointed - it's really impressive and has its own little garden area, a large roll-top bath and of course as the name would indicate a little cinema for two! We had drinks in the bar which I really liked and ate dinner in the restaurant. I have to say that we had a few little blips with service but they were dealt with professionally and that is what makes the difference. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickchick745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

One night spent in this lovely hotel in the centre of Cambridge. Terrific room, great food and super beer (even though no draught beers!). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a gorgeous hotel, located in the heart of Cambridge. The decoration is quirky and original, every room being slightly different. My room on the first floor was spacious with a lovely staircase feature. My bathroom had both a roll-top bath and large shower wet-room, absolutely gorgeous! The basement bar is intimate and atmospheric, the wine selection is exceptional. I loved staying in this hotel, and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitzroyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.2 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cambridge

Property: Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Address: Trumpington Street, Cambridge, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,843 - ₹ 23,672
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cambridge 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel in Cambridge city centre was a former University-owned building on Trumpington Street which has been transformed to enhance its many quirky architectural features.Forty one bedrooms and suites, some with private terraces, have been carved out of the former University-owned building, alongside our trademark bistro with the first Hotel du Vin open-style kitchen and curiously labyrinthine cellar bar. Dating back in part to medieval times, Hotel du Vin Cambridge boasts a cosy library, private events room perfect for special occasions, meetings and events. The bistro and bar are available for residents, locals and visitors alike at Hotel du Vin & Bistro Cambridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing