We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
32
104
45
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
104
45
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arundel hotel sister property city centre jesus green free parking shower room was small send someone car park at the back breakfast was excellent the river nice hotel cooked breakfast tea and coffee making facilities lovely big room full english bit dated leave the car
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

It was a good walk from the train station (took a taxi on the return), but the Ashley met our needs. We arrived in the morning, but cleaning staff let us into the room so we could drop our bags.The room was charming, clean, and quiet. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Stayed here for 1 night with my 2 daughters. We had a family room comprising 1 single bed and 1 absolutely huge super king bed! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Fixtures and fittings a little old fashioned but well maintained. The bathroom was a good size with a powerful shower over the bath. Piping hot water which Is always a bonus. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk and biscuits in the room also. The beds were very comfortable and there were also 2 chairs in the room should you wish to sit on something other than the bed. The breakfast was fantastic, beautifully cooked for us with a choice of fried or scrambled egg. Plenty of juices and cereals to choose from too and lovely fresh coffee or tea. There is a co-op supermarket directly over the road from the hotel for any little requirements . The hotel Is around a 15 minute walk into the centre of Cambridge and it's a pleasant walk if you go across the bridge and through the park. Just watch out for the many cyclists on the footpaths throught the park though, they tend to 'fly past' and don't always ring their bells!! All in all a very pleasant stay in this hotel and all the staff we met were helpful and friendly with genuine smiles on their faces! I'm sure we will return!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank bevvyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Comfortable and clean as it may be the Ashley is basically an annexe of the The Arundel Hotel a ten minute walk away on the same Chesterton Road. There is no bar or restaurant so in theory it's just a basic B & B. We checked in and got our key card at The Arundel and walked down. Rooms good size, clean and tidy. Modern fitted bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities but with only four pots of milk. Lovely full english breakfast is served by attentive staff in a basement eating area. On vacating we were able to leave our keycard with the kitchen staff so didn't need to trek back to The Arundel. Handy for walking into Cambridge. One night £90 for a double room with Full English.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SisterBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I was disappointed with the layout of the hotel, you have to go up and down and up again to get to the rooms! The heating in my room was not working and as the hotel is not manned for the majority of the time it was difficult to get help. The person that was available for part of the time had poor English and was unable to sort out the heating problem although she did give me a fan heater! The breakfast was ok although the fried egg was hard. How difficult can it be to cook a fried egg!
The location of the hotel was good for the city centre, about 30 minute walk across the Cam River and common.
I would suggest visitors stay at the main hotel, Arundel House hotel which is more expensive but worth paying the extra for the really big difference in the quality.
This is more like a B&B than a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PJTravels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Cambridge is an expensive city to visit so for the price you pay for this hotel it represents decent value in that city for bed and breakfast.
We stayed 2 nights for 2 separate functions,one being a visit to the wonderful Midsummer House of brilliant chef Daniel Clifford and its location for that restaurant is excellent,a 7 minute easy walk and you'd be unlikely to park much closer.It's also only about a 20 minute walk into the city centre and a nice walk at that across Midsummer Common.So on price and location it's good.
But it is very basic.It's hardly an hotel at all really except in name,being in effect an annexe to the rather posher (and more expensive) Arundel House Hotel a 10 minute walk away.You check-in at Arundel House and then drive or walk to Ashley House to access your room.
Ashley House has a reception but it's only manned for part of the day.It has no bar,no restaurant as such(apart from the kitchen which is open 7.30-9.30 to serve breakfast.).There's the most basic and rather drab communal sitting area which is uninviting so not somewhere you'd readily spend any time.
In other words it's very much functional,a place to put your head down but not spend any more than the minimum time in.At that level though ,and with those limited expectations,it does the job.The rooms are clean if somewhat old fashioned and dreary.The towels and toiletries are fine.The en-suite bathroom is very very small but has a shower and washbasin and toilet and the water is hot.There's a TV with basic channels.There's a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities.There's a room safe and a wardrobe.The bed was comfortable.The 2 armcahirs were fine for sitting a short while.
We had room 16 on the top floor and it looked out over the large car park at the rear.It was quiet.I'm told rooms at the front on the lower floors can be noisy from traffic on the main road.The stairs are quite steep and narrow so not suitable for anyone with mobility problems and there's no lift
Breakfast was decent,a choice of juices and cereals and tea or coffee and a full English cooked breakfast with toast.It was nicely cooked for the most part.
Check-out was easy--you just leave your key card in the room and go.
During our stay the radiators in the main room and bathroom weren't working.We did report this when we first arrived at about 3.30pm but were told nothing could be done about this until the following day.We were given a blow-heater.The following day the problem was said to be serious and would take a while to fix so we were offered a room move which we declined as fortunately it was actually fairly mild so the lack of proper heating wasn't a problem and in a small room the blow heater alright.I only mention this because I did get the feeling that more attention was given to the Arundel(where maintenance is based) and the Ashley is perhaps the poor relation,hence a reception only manned for part of the day but also perhaps reflecting the price difference in the two hotels.You get what you pay for I suppose.
Overall I'd stay again because of price and location but purely as a place to get my head down rather than a place to enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews