We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OK for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Cambridge
UK
Level Contributor
233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Checked in later than we had expected and the room was ready for us with spare bed made up. The room was a bit small and nowhere else to sit except for on the beds. Generally clean and serviced. Poor reception on TV (BBC1). Not a power shower as described but lots of hot water.

The hotel was convenient for where we wished to be in Cambridge and in a quiet area although we were woken in the early hours by man next door on his mobile phone - so had to make our annoyance felt by knocking on the wall! The walls may be thin but this was a room with an adjoining door (locked) which probably made it worse.

Reception staff were helpful and the breakfast provided was very good and served in an airy eating area. Did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as it seemed quite expensive for basic fare. However, there is nowhere else in the immediate area to go for a meal. The complimentary morning newspapers were also a nice touch. We had a good deal for the night having booked ahead and would do that again but the walk in rate was up as £150 and no way should that be justifiable. The hotel was quite new and preferable to a recent stay at a local Travelodge. Free parking is available.

Booking through the central reservations was not the easiest experience - with operators passing the buck and costly call charges. Best to do it direct with the hotel if possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank You for your comments regarding your recent experience during your stay at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge. It was a pleasure to learn, you liked the breakfast offerings & cleanliness of room was up to your expectations.

Here at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge It is Important for us that all our guests enjoy their stay and have a relaxed time during their visit. With regards to room size I can confirm that all our rooms are of standard size and more information on the descriptions can be found while booking on the website or on phone.

With regards to your comments regarding price I can assure you that our rates are competitive to similar hotels in the area.

I have noted down your comments regarding TV and Shower. I assure you necessary steps will be taken to avoid inconvenience to any of our customers in future.

Once again thank you for your comments, the entire team at the hotel would like to be associated with me in thanking you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind Regards
Sushil Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    270
    138
    32
    18
See reviews for
123
196
24
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I arrived in the cold weather spell in February, and was disappointed to have no heating in the room at all, which meant I retired to bed early to keep warm.
I've stayed at many holiday inn express and have always been satisfied, perhaps if I had paid less I would have scored higher, but for 100 a room for 1 night I was slightly disappointed, but I guess that's the price one must pay near Cambridge?
I stayed in a Hilton the following night near London, paid less and the room was amazing in comparison.
Breakfast was basic but functional and the location was convenient for me, would I stay here again? I'm unsure? I would maybe pay the 20 more and stay at the holiday inn or another hotel, but I certainly wouldn't pay £100 again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCambridge, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank You for your comments regarding your recent experience during your stay at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge.
Here at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge It is Important for us that all our guests enjoy their stay and have a relaxed time during their visit. I’m, dismayed to learn about heating in the room. Ideally, we ensure that our heating system are regularly serviced and maintained. However, if a problem arises with heating and on contacting reception we equip guest rooms with portable heaters.
With regards to your comments regarding price I can assure you that are prices are competitive as compared to other hotels in the area.
Once again thank you for your comments, the entire team at the hotel would like to be associated with me in thanking you for your custom and hope this will not deter you from staying with us in future.
Myself and the team at the hotel look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards

Sushil Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Quite well located, though a little difficult to find (local signage poor). Good bus service
to Cambridge centre, the stop 9 or 10 minutes walk from hotel. Accommodation satisfactory
and staff friendly - a (Duty?) Manager very helpful regarding an incident the first night.
Seemingly no nearby dining and the hotel's bar offering extremely limited choice; not one
sparkling wine and the pleasant barmaid when asked if they had Campari said "What's
that, never heard of that." Michel Parfois-Sage.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

As always with most Holdiay Inn Express Hotels the breakfast is unlimited and free and the rooms are marginally better than a premier inn / travel lodge

This one is hidden by the airport and is a congested 15 minute drive to the city centre or a straight non stop 5 minute drive.

It has free parking unlike other city centre hotels. If you need a cab (or a drink!) I suggest a more central option.

Otherwise, as advertised.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Chose HIE as it seemed reasonable price compared to cambridge's overpriced hotels. You also usually know what you are going to get in HIE. This is a New HIE so had a nice newish feel to it. But some areas I did think looked a bit grubby and needed a bit of a elbow grease.

LOCATION
Location is a little out the way of Cambridge city Centre, on the website they say 20 minutes, receptionist said 25-30 minutes and somebody else said 40 minutes. I think 40 minutes is probably more accurate. Its in a new business type area, with a fitness gym close by and a large catering cash and carry. Seems quite quiet area and very safe. However I wouldnt walk this area by myself at night.

Taking a taxi is probably the easiest way, though there is a bus stop 5 minutes away. I think taxi was about £15

Ask the receptionist for a map of city centre and hotel location and she will mark it down for you and main areas to shop etc

CAR PARK
Secure entry/exit - Seemed secure, quiet and safe. And easy to park

SERVICE
Staff were lovely and seemed happy to help even rustling me up a salad even though it was not on the menu and the chef had just been about to leave.

BREAKFAST
I hate HIE breakfasts - they are always pants and this was no exception - also seemed a bit dirty. However it was part of the price so I did have a mediocre breakfast.

ROOM
Usual HIE room. I had a twin room it was a little small for 2 people but no complaints no smaller than other hotels. Usual shower etc facilities and room was quiet. My only complaint was the tv which was a old type and didnt work very well. Paid for a movie and sound quality was so bad we couldnt hear the actors and picture quality was bad no matter how much we adjusted.
The room was reasonably clean and I had no complaints but not squeaky sparkling clean if you know what I mean. Usual heating/cool facilities. Our room had views of the grass area where we watched in amazement as the fatest rabbits I have ever seen frollicked around.

SUMMARY
Considering the dreadful prices of other hotels in Cambridge this hotel was pretty good. Don't be put off by location it works out okay.

If this review was helpful can you click the helpful button

Cheers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jedisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 35 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
3.2 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Cambridge City East Hotel
2.9 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 35 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.7 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 35 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Address: Unit 15-17 Coldhams Business Park Norman Way | Norman Way, Cambridge CB1 3LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,288 - ₹ 13,885
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a peaceful stay at the modern Holiday Inn Express Cambridge hotel, just 2 miles from Cambridge city centre. Holiday Inn Express Cambridge is a good-value choice with free Wi-Fi, newly refurbished bedrooms with comfort cooling, free onsite parking, a daily complimentary continental breakfast with hot items served in our sociable Great Room and discounted local fitness centre rates. Our handy location means you are just 15 minutes from the heart of historic Cambridge with its river punting and university buildings. Host a presentation in one of Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's 3 naturally lit meeting rooms, all with free wireless Internet. We're easy for your delegates to reach, just 24 miles from Stansted Airport on the M11 and 1.5 miles from Cambridge train station. It's just a short walk from the hotel to meetings with companies based in Coldhams Business Park. Cambridge's focal point is its beautiful university campus, packed with medieval college buildings and the Gothic King's College Chapel. Sail along the tranquil River Cam by punt for a city tour with a difference, passing picturesque parks and beautiful bridges. After a day's sightseeing, sink into a leather sofa in Holiday Inn Express Cambridge's welcoming Great Room, where helpful staff will take your order for dinner. The Great Room opens out onto a peaceful terrace and garden and you can mingle over drinks till late in our sociable bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Express Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing