We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Felix
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
US$ 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 290
US$ 282
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cambridge(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 113
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 298
US$ 289
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 246
US$ 239
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Norwich Street Apartments - Peymans(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 238
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ashley Hotel(Cambridge)
US$ 152
US$ 144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
US$ 154
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Cambridge (A14, J32) Hotel(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
US$ 86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
490
437
196
107
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
437
196
107
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgraffiti restaurantwhite company toiletrieslovely hoteljunior suitecity centreunderfloor heatingmini barfresh milkbath and showercontinental breakfastfull englishreception staffthe ground floorquiet locationenjoyable stayplenty of parkingfree parking
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've stayed in at least a couple dozen hotels in the UK over the years, and this is clearly one of the best. Two things liked about it are (1.) it's in a quiet section of town, about a mile from the center of Cambridge, and (2) its staff is well trained and friendly. The food is good. We had a dinner and three breakfasts and no complaints about quality or service. The staff is particularly helpful. They are pretty young, which often means not well trained, but that's not the case at the Felix. When we return to Cambridge, we'll definitely stay at the Felix.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for posting your review. At Hotel Felix, we take great pride in customer service and work with people who have the right attitude and who strive to please. Yes, many are young, but it's great that they are eager and willing to learn.

We look forward very much to welcoming you when you next come to Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Spent two nights here on a cold, wet, weekend in May. I have stayed here a few times and it is as good as ever with really comfy beds and a fab bathroom with lots of goodies. it's really nice to have real milk in the mini bar instead of the yukky UHT stuff. Breakfast was super with lots of choice. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I have had were good.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Glad to know that you had another relaxing stay at Hotel Felix Julie and thank you so much for your positive feedback. Sorry that you didn’t have good weather. Whilst our garden and terrace lend themselves perfectly to al fresco dining when the sun shines, the light and airy Orangery is a nice place to relax with a cup of tea or coffee when the weather isn’t so good.

Pleased that you enjoyed the fresh milk that we put in our rooms. This was a conscious decision that we made a while ago. After all, who wants to taint their tea with UHT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is an old house with multiple extensions on the outskirts of Cambridge. Bedrooms in the original house and in multiple extensions around t. Not architecturally outstanding. Food okay. Comprehensive English breakfast; fresh toast on request, just not outstanding. Boeuf Bourguinion at lunchtime was good, but not special. Service quite good and staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is a beautiful listed Victorian Villa, which we have furnished to a high standard, incorporating contemporary style and comfort.

We are highly flexible with regard to breakfast, as not all of our guests necessarily want the same thing. Therefore, we allow each person to let us know exactly what they would like. Glad that you enjoyed lunch and that our staff looked after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Felix last September and had a great time the room was brilliant even down to the television at the end lof the bath, very tastefully decorated and laid out. We ate in the Graffiti restuarant as it was a celebration. What a night the food was great. We took friends back this weekend for a meal at the restuarant. the standard was still as good superb food and wine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getabout01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Following your stay with us last September, we are delighted that you returned to Hotel Felix again this month. Thank you so much for your compliments on our high standards and superb food and wine. I have passed your kind comments to our chefs and restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you next time your are in Cambridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

As a young couple (21+22) we have never stayed somewhere this luxurious. We decided to spend more than usual as it was our anniversary of 5 years. The price is high due to it being located in such a popular city. We paid £130 for one night with continental breakfast in the morning (this was a non-refundable advanced booking).

The room was lovely, however i did think it was going to be a little bigger, but i wasn't dissapointed (maybe i just thought this because of the price!). The bathroom floor was tiled and HEATED! I loved this, i woke up twice in the night and both times thought i would have to walk on a cold tiled floor, but no! The bed was huge, it felt like i had a double to myself, the pillows were really comfy and overall we both had a really good nights sleep.

The staff were very helpful, when we arrived to check in we were told they offered a complimentary 'turndown' service so i replied 'ok' thinking, i'll phone my mum when we get to the room to ask what that is as i didn't want to look silly, but as i said ok she had written 'yes' on her paperwork. We then realised later that evening around 730-8 when a gentleman knocked on our door asking if we would like fresh towels and to close our curtains-this is what the turndown service was-you all probably know this anyway!

Breakfast was lovely, a continental breakfast was included in our stay. On offer was 4 types of cereal, croissants and pan au chocolat, mixed basket of toast, fresh fruit, orange juice, teas, coffees, hot chocolates etc.

A taxi ride into the centre (Bridge Street) costed us £5.80 this was only 5-7minutes i would say. To drive into town we were advised to park in Park Street car park as it was the cheapest of them all (up to 3 hours £5.20 i think after that i went up to over £8). It is ideally located, you walk out onto Bridge Street, if you turn immedicately right, you can go punting on the river for £20 (self-punt up to 6 people for this price). I think to have a tour it was £14 each. There are a few different companies that do it, as we 'punted' up the river we noticed one that did it for £14 (self punt) but there boats looked tatty, whereas we had a pretty decent one! If you turn left you will head into the centre, past the old sweet shop-which i obviously had to visit!

Overall a lovely stay, Cambridge is a beautiful city with plenty to offer, museums, punting, architecture, lovely restaurants, boutiques.

We definately reccomment the Felix Hotel, it is in a brilliant location, if you wanted to walk we were told it would be 30 minutes, it didn't look like a very exciting walk either.

If you want to be situated right in the centre, be prepared to pay for it!

Hope this review helped.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_thatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Suzanne Richardson, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Felix.

We installed underfloor heating in our bathrooms last year and get many positive comments. Much nicer, as you say, to walk on a warm floor in the middle of the night, rather than a cold one!

Next time you stay with us, which I very much hope you will, why not consider the Park and Ride service or the bus into town, which stops a short walk from the hotel. Both options are much cheaper than hiring a taxi. As you say, a walk from the hotel into central Cambridge is not far and because it is straight, you can't get lost, which is a bonus.

We work with one of the punt hire companies in Cambridge and are also able to offer guests staying at Hotel Felix discounted punt tickets (which can bill to your room). This is really flexible way of hiring a punt as there is no set time and you can use your ticket as and when you wish. Cambridge is also culturally rich and has many art galleries, interesting museums, theatres and cinemas.

Whilst Hotel Felix is not in the centre of Cambridge, it is just five minutes' drive, and on a day such as today, when it is warm and sunny, what better to escape from the hussle and bustle of the city and enjoy lunch, afternoon tea, dinner or a glass of wine al fresco on the terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews