We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hotel in Cambridge (location aside)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Felix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Cambridge (location aside)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I used to live in Cambridge, which is well known for its overfull, mediocre hotels. However, Hotel Felix is one of the very best - arguably the best, aside from its location.

I've stayed here a few times. The hotel is spacious with attractive gardens. On my latest trip the room was (as usual) stylishlish decorated and comfortable; the bathroom equally good; my room was also unusually quiet (though it may be that the adjacent rooms were unoccupied).

Breakfast was very good - both the porridge, and the toast, which was perhaps the best I've ever had in a hotel (thickly sliced homemade-seeming bread rather than supermarket sliced). The buffet was fine but could have a bigger choice. Service was efficient.

The only downside, but a significant one for many, is the location: Hotel Felix is on the edge of Cambridge, whereas the other good hotels (of which there are about two!) are in the centre. It's also on the opposite side of the city from the train station. So it isn't a great location for visiting tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We are delighted to be referred to as ‘Probably the best hotel in Cambridge’. What an honour, thank you so much! It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Due to their location, our bedrooms are nice and quiet and we usually get positive feedback in this respect. We’re also pleased that you like our toast…thick so much nicer than thin.

With plenty of free parking, Hotel Felix is perfect for a weekend of relaxation. Whilst we are slightly out of town, there are plenty of buses which stop at the top of our road and it’s a five minute ride into town. If you were to arrive by train, it’s good to point out that you would also have to catch a bus into the City Centre, otherwise a 30 minute walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    378
    171
    90
    45
See reviews for
174
539
24
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadlyme CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I've stayed in at least a couple dozen hotels in the UK over the years, and this is clearly one of the best. Two things liked about it are (1.) it's in a quiet section of town, about a mile from the center of Cambridge, and (2) its staff is well trained and friendly. The food is good. We had a dinner and three breakfasts and no complaints about quality or service. The staff is particularly helpful. They are pretty young, which often means not well trained, but that's not the case at the Felix. When we return to Cambridge, we'll definitely stay at the Felix.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for posting your review. At Hotel Felix, we take great pride in customer service and work with people who have the right attitude and who strive to please. Yes, many are young, but it's great that they are eager and willing to learn.

We look forward very much to welcoming you when you next come to Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Spent two nights here on a cold, wet, weekend in May. I have stayed here a few times and it is as good as ever with really comfy beds and a fab bathroom with lots of goodies. it's really nice to have real milk in the mini bar instead of the yukky UHT stuff. Breakfast was super with lots of choice. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I have had were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Glad to know that you had another relaxing stay at Hotel Felix Julie and thank you so much for your positive feedback. Sorry that you didn’t have good weather. Whilst our garden and terrace lend themselves perfectly to al fresco dining when the sun shines, the light and airy Orangery is a nice place to relax with a cup of tea or coffee when the weather isn’t so good.

Pleased that you enjoyed the fresh milk that we put in our rooms. This was a conscious decision that we made a while ago. After all, who wants to taint their tea with UHT!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is an old house with multiple extensions on the outskirts of Cambridge. Bedrooms in the original house and in multiple extensions around t. Not architecturally outstanding. Food okay. Comprehensive English breakfast; fresh toast on request, just not outstanding. Boeuf Bourguinion at lunchtime was good, but not special. Service quite good and staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is a beautiful listed Victorian Villa, which we have furnished to a high standard, incorporating contemporary style and comfort.

We are highly flexible with regard to breakfast, as not all of our guests necessarily want the same thing. Therefore, we allow each person to let us know exactly what they would like. Glad that you enjoyed lunch and that our staff looked after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Felix last September and had a great time the room was brilliant even down to the television at the end lof the bath, very tastefully decorated and laid out. We ate in the Graffiti restuarant as it was a celebration. What a night the food was great. We took friends back this weekend for a meal at the restuarant. the standard was still as good superb food and wine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getabout01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Following your stay with us last September, we are delighted that you returned to Hotel Felix again this month. Thank you so much for your compliments on our high standards and superb food and wine. I have passed your kind comments to our chefs and restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you next time your are in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.3 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
3.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
3.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,230 - ₹ 20,367
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing