We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in the Graffiti restuarant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Felix

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Felix
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Great food in the Graffiti restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Felix last September and had a great time the room was brilliant even down to the television at the end lof the bath, very tastefully decorated and laid out. We ate in the Graffiti restuarant as it was a celebration. What a night the food was great. We took friends back this weekend for a meal at the restuarant. the standard was still as good superb food and wine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getabout01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Following your stay with us last September, we are delighted that you returned to Hotel Felix again this month. Thank you so much for your compliments on our high standards and superb food and wine. I have passed your kind comments to our chefs and restaurant team.

We look forward to welcoming you next time your are in Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    378
    169
    88
    45
See reviews for
168
531
24
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

As a young couple (21+22) we have never stayed somewhere this luxurious. We decided to spend more than usual as it was our anniversary of 5 years. The price is high due to it being located in such a popular city. We paid £130 for one night with continental breakfast in the morning (this was a non-refundable advanced booking).

The room was lovely, however i did think it was going to be a little bigger, but i wasn't dissapointed (maybe i just thought this because of the price!). The bathroom floor was tiled and HEATED! I loved this, i woke up twice in the night and both times thought i would have to walk on a cold tiled floor, but no! The bed was huge, it felt like i had a double to myself, the pillows were really comfy and overall we both had a really good nights sleep.

The staff were very helpful, when we arrived to check in we were told they offered a complimentary 'turndown' service so i replied 'ok' thinking, i'll phone my mum when we get to the room to ask what that is as i didn't want to look silly, but as i said ok she had written 'yes' on her paperwork. We then realised later that evening around 730-8 when a gentleman knocked on our door asking if we would like fresh towels and to close our curtains-this is what the turndown service was-you all probably know this anyway!

Breakfast was lovely, a continental breakfast was included in our stay. On offer was 4 types of cereal, croissants and pan au chocolat, mixed basket of toast, fresh fruit, orange juice, teas, coffees, hot chocolates etc.

A taxi ride into the centre (Bridge Street) costed us £5.80 this was only 5-7minutes i would say. To drive into town we were advised to park in Park Street car park as it was the cheapest of them all (up to 3 hours £5.20 i think after that i went up to over £8). It is ideally located, you walk out onto Bridge Street, if you turn immedicately right, you can go punting on the river for £20 (self-punt up to 6 people for this price). I think to have a tour it was £14 each. There are a few different companies that do it, as we 'punted' up the river we noticed one that did it for £14 (self punt) but there boats looked tatty, whereas we had a pretty decent one! If you turn left you will head into the centre, past the old sweet shop-which i obviously had to visit!

Overall a lovely stay, Cambridge is a beautiful city with plenty to offer, museums, punting, architecture, lovely restaurants, boutiques.

We definately reccomment the Felix Hotel, it is in a brilliant location, if you wanted to walk we were told it would be 30 minutes, it didn't look like a very exciting walk either.

If you want to be situated right in the centre, be prepared to pay for it!

Hope this review helped.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_thatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Suzanne Richardson, Sales & Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Felix.

We installed underfloor heating in our bathrooms last year and get many positive comments. Much nicer, as you say, to walk on a warm floor in the middle of the night, rather than a cold one!

Next time you stay with us, which I very much hope you will, why not consider the Park and Ride service or the bus into town, which stops a short walk from the hotel. Both options are much cheaper than hiring a taxi. As you say, a walk from the hotel into central Cambridge is not far and because it is straight, you can't get lost, which is a bonus.

We work with one of the punt hire companies in Cambridge and are also able to offer guests staying at Hotel Felix discounted punt tickets (which can bill to your room). This is really flexible way of hiring a punt as there is no set time and you can use your ticket as and when you wish. Cambridge is also culturally rich and has many art galleries, interesting museums, theatres and cinemas.

Whilst Hotel Felix is not in the centre of Cambridge, it is just five minutes' drive, and on a day such as today, when it is warm and sunny, what better to escape from the hussle and bustle of the city and enjoy lunch, afternoon tea, dinner or a glass of wine al fresco on the terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Just back from a 1 night stay at the Felix. The best thing about this hotel is the staff....something which is so, so rare these days.........

Every member of the team was happy and could not do enough for you. This includes the reception team, the porter, the bar staff and all the waiting staff at both dinner and breakfast. The attention to detail was excellent. I don't think the hotel looks that impressive from the outside - my heart sank a little on arrival........BUT inside it was very nice, the gardens were gorgeous - so pretty and well looked after.

We ate at the hotel and everything was spot on - well worth the money.

Breakfast was outstanding - The highlights were - The Granola, homemade along with the 2 different fruit salads. I had a toasted bacon sandwich which was packed with bacon, the waiter even asked if I would like my bacon crispy - It's this attention to detail which makes this hotel stand out and much better than many 5 star hotels I have stayed in.

We will visit again but next time we will have the afternoon tea as for £13.50 it looked AMAZING.

We also felt the wine by the glass was very good value too. Prices started from £3.50 which is so rare - anywhere these days!

Free wi-fi in the entire hotel........this does not happen very often!

Go to the Felix and let them look after you because this is what the staff excel at.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBER30049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Suzanne Richardson, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Hotel Felix. As a team, we do our utmost to look after all of our guests in a personal, friendly and caring manner. It is therefore flattering to compare us as 'better' than many 5 star hotels you have stayed in.

With regard to food, not everyone likes it cooked in the same way. Some like their bacon crispy, and of course others do not. Glad that yours was cooked to perfection. Head Chef, Tom Stewart, is thrilled to know that you like his homemade granola, as so many of our guests do!

At Hotel Felix, it goes without saying that our guests will want Internet access at some point during their stay and it is therefore a service that we like to offer free of charge.

Finally, I'm glad that afternoon tea at Hotel Felix proved to be a real treat at just £13.25, so less than you thought!

We look forward very much to welcoming you in the future and thank you once again for posting a review which perfectly reflects our fabulous hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary as a surprise and it certainly was! We arrived on one of the wettest weekend and staff were friendly but the decor and set up made me feel as if I was there for a work conference.

We went to the bar for a quite bottle of champagne and there was a full scrum of wedding guests vying for their pints of lager.... Dinner was utterly delicious but was completely let down by the interior and ambience of the restaurant. We sat in the stark brightly lit room with no tablecloths and strange art on the wall (m husband had to sit staring at a giant wire phallus for the duration of the meal whilst I gazed adoringly at him in the glaring light. The hotel's interior designer has tried so hard to be clever with colours and light and it is just awful. No ambience or character whatsoever. Turn the lights down, put white linen table cloths and real candles, fresh flowers and neutral art and the people will come!

After a good nights sleep we walked along the conference corridors to breakfast which was delicious home made granola, fruit and croissants. By the way all the staff are friendly and courteous it is just the lack of ambience! After checking out we went to get the car and the hotel car park had flooded and I had to wade through 2ft of cold, muddy water to gt the car out. Not a great experience. So be warned if you park your car overnight when it's raining!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nikigifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne R, Suzanne Richardson, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for choosing the Hotel Felix for your wedding anniversary. I’m so sorry that the awful weather marred your visit, but am pleased to hear that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast. Here at Hotel Felix, we pride ourselves in the impeccable standards to which we operate and the fabulous food cooked by our head chef, Tom Stewart, and his team.

I am so sorry that you felt that the hotel lacked atmosphere. It is our policy to the dim lights in Restaurant Graffiti in the evening to create a more intimate atmosphere. I therefore apologise for the fact that this wasn’t the case on the evening of your stay. Furthermore, it is our standard not to cloth the tables and we prefer to put beautiful floral displays around the hotel, rather than putting them on our tables. We indicate this through the images on our website.

With regard to the wedding guests in the Bar, we do indicate in our confirmation letters that on occasions, we host private events or wedding receptions in the evening, but once again apologise for the fact that this spoilt your experience in the restaurant.

I very much appreciate your comments and have shared them with our restaurant team. I do hope that your recent stay at Hotel Felix will not prevent you from coming to enjoy our lovely hotel in the future and we very much look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Rooms superb , staff superb, restaurant superb bset hotel in Cambridge

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfelix1, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Felix, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
What praise! Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Felix very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.3 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
3.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
3.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
8.4 km away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Felix? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Felix

Property: Hotel Felix
Address: Whitehouse Lane, Cambridge CB3 0LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,895 - ₹ 18,606
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Felix 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Felix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felix Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing