We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b&b and most welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southampton Guest House
Ranked #63 of 121 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best b&b and most welcoming”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Been staying at this b&b for the past 3 years, through out my university residentials. I always stayed in the same room and even tho it might be a little bit old fashioned you couldn't be more looked after! The owners , lovely Yvonne and Stefan are always happy and helpful.
Put it this way.......if I'd had to choose beetwen ritz and Southampton guesthouse I'd choose Southampton guesthouse every time !

Once I'm graduated I'll def come back for a night out in Cambridge and stay at Southampton guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
9
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at the Southampton Guest House for 6 nights while getting my daughter settled at her university. It was a wonderful value for the price, and a very pleasant stay. Yvonne and Stephane are warm and helpful hosts, and the location was great, about 10 minutes walk from the City Centre. (Walking back in the evening along Midsummer Common and passing through a herd of peacefully grazing cows was an extra treat!) The room was very basic, but clean and comfortable. I definitely plan to stay there on future visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

A good little B and B! Very Clean and comfortable. A little dated with the wall paper dating back a while and one of those moving water pictures in the breakfast room which I have not seen an example of since my local Indian had one about 25 years ago. Very friendly hosts and the best breakfast I have had for a long time. For the money it is great value!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkplusWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I revisited the Southampton Guest House for the fifth or sixth time after a few years absence. Stephano and Yvonne continue to provide a comfortable and relaxing place to stay and an excellent breakfast. Room 4 was very clean and contained everything you would expect.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for 1 night after finding it by chance as everywhere was full due to the strawberry fair being on. Well all I can say we were very lucky as it was really really nice and very reasonably priced compared to others we tried. Great value for your money. We were greeted with a warm smile and she could not do enough for us. The room was a reasonable size, clean and cosy. The breakfast was superb whith a good choice and wonderfully cooked. They speak 3 languages which is a bonus for visitors from overseas.They even have off road parking which is a bonus and it is a pleasant 15 min walk into the city. Overall really enjoyed our stay, and we are looking forward to returning when visiting our family in Cambridge. Well Done

Room Tip: although we were at the front it is was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annbobSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 km away
Acorn Guesthouse
Acorn Guesthouse
#70 of 121 in Cambridge
127 reviews
0.7 km away
Home from Home
Home from Home
#22 of 121 in Cambridge
208 reviews
0.7 km away
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
Harry's Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 121 in Cambridge
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Your Space Cambridge Apartments Byron House
0.4 km away
Carlton Lodge
Carlton Lodge
#75 of 121 in Cambridge
38 reviews
0.6 km away
5 Chapel Street
5 Chapel Street
#9 of 121 in Cambridge
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southampton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Guest House

Property: Southampton Guest House
Address: 7 Elizabeth Way, Cambridge CB4 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Southampton Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing