We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
31
37
38
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
37
38
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews italian family a lovely family run hotel pub next door one night lovely little hotel friendly hotel city centre bed was very comfortable hotel room hash browns three nights night's sleep insulation mattresses junction rear university
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing service as soon as we walked in, with an informative check in and we were asked did we need help with our bags. The rooms were very clean and Italian themed and the beds were extra comfy, had the best nights sleep ever. The food in the restaurant is delicious the spag bol was amazing. The vegetarian breakfast was also delicious with plenty of choice for breakfast . The hotel is only 20 minute walk into town, free parking at the hotel which is brilliant. All staff are really friendly and very polite. A lovely little hotel which made our anniversary weekend as we got married in Italy. Thankyou for a really nice stay :-)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bec662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

The room we stayed in was classed as "deluxe" which was OK but too much furniture, including a four-poster bed, crammed into a smallish room. The bathroom was almost as big and contained, in our opinion, an unnecessary sauna in the corner! Breakfast was a hit and miss affair having to repeatedly ask the very young (and sullen) staff to top-up the food which took a very long time. The hotel needs updating in places but has the bonus of parking enabling a walk to city centre (about half-hour). OK for us for one night.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a one night break, to attend a Cambridge graduation. The first disappointment was that payment in full was debited from my bank on the day of booking, several weeks before our stay. This was not a busy hotel, so it wasn't as if a potential cancellation would have cost them money.
This hotel is located out of town, with a fair walking distance to the town centre, but did suit for a Homerton College event.
In general the hotel is dated, with a stale atmosphere, old-fashioned furnishings and in real need of investment and improvement.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable but would be in need of a good tradesman to attend to numerous tasks including tidying the paintwork, wallpapering to a better standard, and general fixing and tidying of taps, silicones seals etc.
The restaurant was a let-down, branded as Italian, it did not offer pizza!!! The dinner menu was varied but not exciting.
Our three main courses all disappointed. The salmon pasta was little more than penne pasta with a salmon sauce, where was the salmon. The fillet steak was dry as it didn't come with any sauce. The selection of desserts was poor, the chocolate cake didn't seem fresh, the ice-cream was fine. At £83.75 for three mains, three desserts, one beer and two soft drinks, I think we should have looked elsewhere.
Breakfast came in very small portion sizes. The buffet selection would indicate that the staff only wanted you to take little. We aren't big eaters in the morning, and as my wife did not request any sausage, bacon or egg, I was angry to see a ten inch plate arrive with only one hash brown and two mushrooms on it! Still can't quite understand why so little!!
Anyway, the staff were reasonable, not chatty or friendly, just very neutral, nobody enquiringly about the purpose of our trip, no suggestions made on where to visit etc.
This is a very under occupied hotel, about seven people attending for dinner and about eight for breakfast, absolutely no excuse to not give a little bit more personal attention. G

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gabe186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night over the bank holiday weekend. The person who checked us in was very friendly and personally walked us to our room. The room was made up with a double and a single (we only needed a double bed), had plenty of space and a nice bathroom with amenities. Breakfast had a good selection, except don’t order a poached egg as it came out very runny and split! Except for that, it was all fine. It’s about a 35 minute walk into the centre of Cambridge, about 10 minute drive (although parking in the centre is very expensive, so I’d just leave the car at the hotel and walk) or get an Uber. Overall, a nice cosy hotel with lovely staff.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sunseekerparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

My room was little but very clean and cosy with a good bed. It was a little bit noisy to be near the stairs but I really enjoyed staying there for a week. The staff were very nice.
Not very far from the centre of Cambridge (about 20mn walk)

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Yamonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews