We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ideally Situated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ideally Situated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here due to it's proximity to Histon Football Ground which is just 1/2 mile from the hotel. Suited our needs there were 9 of us altogether. Check in was a little slow but we were very early and were grateful our rooms were actually ready for us, which was a bonus.
Room was very comfortable with all you could need and a choice of soft or firm pillows is a great idea. Dined in the restaurant and the food was plentiful and tasty, did not have breakfast it was £11 approx with a voucher from reception and as we didn't really need a full breakfast we decided to head home and stop off on the way. Check out was swift and the young guy on reception very cheerful, although being asked to rate our stay out of 10 in front of other people was a little embarrasing.
Overall would stay again as it's not that far into Cambridge which on a finer day would be great to visit,

Room Tip: All rooms are easlly accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that you expreience lived up to expectattions, and you found us useful for visitng Histon FC.
I apologise that you found the 1-10 question embarrassing, however we have found it has given us great insight into guest expectations, allowing us to improve our guest satisfaction.
We value the feedback we receieve from our guests, and try to make the necessary changes where we are able to do so.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge in the future.

Kind Regards
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    409
    216
    67
    22
See reviews for
183
320
36
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here last in 1993 so it's probably changed a bit since my fading memories from then. The location hasn't, though, so if you don't have a car you'll need to rely on a £10 taxi into town or you could buy a £3.70 day tripper on the bus. But beware - the bus stop is hidden in a side road out of the hotel and down a country lane. That said, we managed it.

Hotel is clean and tidy, although check in was a bit weird. Having seen us push in quite a lot of luggage on one of the airport-type trolleys they provide we were given a room on an upper floor and there's no lift. We were given a ground floor room as a result, which was okay. Bathroom had been refurbished and the bed was comfy, although the furniture had a sense of being what was there 20 years ago... We only paid £88, though, which is about half what the hotels in the centre of Cambridge wanted for this weekend. The price is well matched to what you get.

Can't recommend the restaurant. We were both sick after the meal - sorry about the detail - although they did refund one of the meals. The wine list is also pretty odd as well, with expensive, strange prices like £6.22 a glass or £23.76 a bottle (for example). Breakfast, in fairness, was better and they have a cook-to-order menu as well as the buffet, and this includes haddock or porridge.

In comparison with other Holiday Inns it's okay, although it wouldn't be my first choice in Cambridge as it's about four miles from town. The staff were quite pleasant and gave us a late checkout at 3pm so can't complain, really. Cambridge isn't a cheap place to stay at the best of times so at least we didn't go home financially ruined!

Room Tip: You can try asking for an upgraded room at £25 but they said they didn't have any left when we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you were unwell during your visit with us. It is a shame that this was not brought to our attention, as we take all allegations very seriously.
Regarding the prices of wine, i can understand that the prices seem strange at the moment, this is due to the VAT increase, and should go back to normal when we get new menu's.
We have a rolling maintenance plan in place, and are constantly updating or product (i.e. recent poolside refurnbishment, and lounge furnishings), other refurbishment areas are on the schedule, however i am sure that you can understand that these things take time.
We hope that you will consider us for a future visit to Cambridge.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
255 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Although the staff try very hard at this hotel to make you welcome good and check you are ok, the hotel is tired and in need of a refresh in the basic roroms. The restaurant is closed on a Sunday night and the bar food is basic and feels very microwave and frozen to oven.

Breakfast is ok and a reasonable hot selection, but the choice of breads and cold food is the same as you would find in an Express.

There was a dripping gutter outside of my room which needed repairing.

Room Tip: Perhaps the club rooms are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.
Although we would prefer not to close the restaurant on Sunday nights, sometimes we are required to due to low occupancy levels.
We do offer the restaurant menu in the lounge on these occassions, along with the regualr lounge menu and room service is available.
I can confirm that all food is cooked fresh to order.
We have a rolling maintenence programme both within the hotel, and the outside of the property. The gutter has now been checked since your visit and repaired where necessary.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Cambridge.

Kind Regards,
Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

we stayed at the hotel for only two nights .a warm welcom.room was clean .food was good but only a small problem on the first night which was sorted out.staff was very helpful and friendly.
the menu print was small could have been bigger but the staff offered to read menu out to me.(they did say a new menu with bigger print was coming soon ).so i would recomend this hotel for a quiet stay.only a short trip to cambridge city centre.

Room Tip: book the best room they can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chadwicktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond so positively on Tripadvisor , At Holiday Inn Cambridge we ensure that we put the guest at the heart of everything that we do. I hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you visit Cambridge.

Kind Regards

Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I recently stayed with a friend and our children in two rooms. The location of the hotel is great, ample parking and close to buses/park and ride for Cambridge. It has a very nice reception area. All the staff we spoke to were helpful and a couple very chatty and friendly which was lovely.

Our children enjoyed the pool, the playground area and the afternoon drinks and sweeties, nice touch. We ate in the restaurant - the food was average but overall a good price given the children's meals were free. We also ordered snacks in the reception area which were prompt and reasonably priced.

The rooms I thought were well decorated, and comfortable, and very quiet compared to other hotel stays I have had. The only comment I would have is that it would be nice to have a room safe in the standard rooms, I went to the gym and had to lock valuables in my case. We asked for rooms close to each other and were given rooms right next to each other.

Overall good value for money in comparison to say a premier inn down the road which does not work out much cheaper and I would definitely stay again if visiting Cambridge in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannythewonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor its important that we gain customer feedback . And with such positive comments about the hotel i can only say that we will continue to invest in the property and the teams to ensure we deliver outstanding service. I do hope the next time you visit Cambridge you will choose us.

Kind Regards

Wayne Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
4.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
3.6 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.8 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
5.6 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: Lakeview Bridge Road, Cambridge CB24 9PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,488 - ₹ 12,034
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel has a great location on the A14, J32 and just 2 1/2 miles from Cambridge city centre and it is an excellent base for visiting local attractions. The hotel offers a range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay and Eat Free*. Facilities include 161 fully air-conditioned bedrooms, High Speed Internet access in all bedrooms and public areas, conference and banqueting facilities for up to 120 people plus Spirit Health and Leisure Club. The hotel has a state of the art Conference Centre boasting 9 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to weddings and dinner dances. The hotel has 200 free car parking spaces. The Leisure Club offers a gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and is complimented by two Beauty Treatment Rooms (advance booking required). Both accessible and family rooms are available at the hotel. The Holiday Inn Cambridge hotel provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including the colleges of Cambridge University, Duxford Air Museum, Newmarket and Ely Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing