We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with efficient staff that make you feel very welcome.”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 May 2012

A lovely boutique hotel slap bang in the middle of Cambridge. Our room was fabulous,exceptionally comfy bed,slipper bath and loads of fluffy towels and amazing view over the spires. The spa is reached by popping next door which was a bit annoying but the building is listed so can,t be knocked through..a small price to pay.
The staff couldnt have Ben more polite or helpful,will definitely be coming again soon.

Room Tip: Anything above 4 th floor
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for The Gonville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,559 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Being part of a large party can skew one's view of a hotel, but this one coped very well. Our room was huge, clean & well-furnished. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! Breakfast, which we took in the conservatory, was very good. Dinner was also well presented,hot and when the menu item not suitable the very helpful staff found an appropriate alternative. Even another large group didn't throw the service.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front, lovely view of Parkers' Piece. Some road noise but not enough to bother us.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have been coming off/on to Cambridge for the last 8 years.We have stayed in a number of other hotels and b&b's but this is the one we keep coming back to for overall good value, location and free parking. We havn't eaten in the dining room here recently after a bit of a fawlty towers experience a few years back , but there are plenty of good eating places within easy walking distance for breakfast or supper.
The staff turn over seems to be quite high with lots of 20yrs + foreign students getting language experience. Usually very friendly and helpful but the downside is that after probably 12 visits we are not recognised with a hello and welcome back! Only a small thing and we quite like being anonymous anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollander72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting family in Cambridge. We initially chose this hotel based on the good reviews here and the fact that it had free parking, but it turned out to be a very nice hotel overall. It has free wi-fi internet, and a decent selection of TV channels. The bathroom and room was modern and clean and the beds were comfortable. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great, within easy walking distance of the center of town. We had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant, which was decent. The food was quite good, although the service was rather slow.

Overall, highly recommended....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed overnightat the end of April12. We arrived at approx 6.00 in the everning. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We paid for dinner bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable. The eveening meal was ok,not the best we have ever had but it was fine. We had to catch a train at 645 the next morning and what was very good was the night porter brought a continental breakfast to ur room at 5.30,which was included in our package. Service and staff very freindly and would be happy to stay here again. In passing the position of the hotell is very good for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,394 reviews
0.2 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,206 reviews
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 12,303 - ₹ 24,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing