We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very dog friendly! They didn't blink an eye when we walked in with the labrador and, unlike other places which allow dogs, there was no long list of rules about pets, just a reasonable request not to take her into public areas. The hotel is not as close in to town as some of the other hotels but still a good location on the edge of Parker's Pieces. The free parking is worth its weight in gold as Cambridge is a nightmare to park in. Reasonably priced, comparable with the other premium hotels. Reception is friendly. Rooms are clean. The only thing is that it is a large, chain hotel and therefore rather character-free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoatLadyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Good afternoon and thank you for your review.
I just thought that I would advise you know that the Hotel is owned and operated by 2 families who use the Best Western Brand for marketing and purchasing . It also gives you our valued customer the comfort of knowing that we do have to maintain good standards in order to belong . Indeed we have recently been upgraded to a BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel.
I was pleased to read your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Roderick A S Watson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,813)
There are newer reviews for The Gonville Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,565 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our first experience of the Gonville and it certainly won't be the last. All of the staff we encountered (management level to cleaning staff )were genuinely helpful and courteous . The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped. We did not have dinner in the hotel but will certainly do this on our next visit to Cambridge. Breakfast was plentiful and the ambience in the dining room was peaceful. All too often restaurants etc. are ruined by the volume and choice of music but this was not the case at the Gonville which, by the way, is far superior in every way to the tired looking De Vere hotel where we have previously stayed. The car park was free unlike the forementioned hotel where it now costs £16 per day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having been born and spent the first 20 years in Cambridge I had long anticipated the return to my hometown. I booked the Gonville as I knew the location was excellent and the service and staff of the hotel were not a disappointment. We stayed for 3 nights, had a great weekend and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Indeed we hope to return.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bath only, when booking check you have a wet room or shower over bath.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had a room for one night a couple of weeks ago and the room looked like it had been re-done in the last few years. Very lovely decor and good bed. (Price was slightly on the high side but then it is central Cambridge)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke_speedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We wanted a good solid hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of Cambridge and got exactly that. We also got exceptional service, The day before arriving (for a wedding) we realised time would be tight, so we asked for an early check in for our two rooms, and this was provided without fuss. The next day our son and his partner were slightly late down to breakfast, and the hotel staff took it in their stride, and still provided a cooked breakfast. The breakfasts were excellent, too, freshly cooked and better than many I've had in more expensive establishments. I'd strongly recommend this hotel.
Just one warning - don't park under the trees! Our car was heavily decorated with bird poo when we left - not the hotel's fault in any way, of course, but something to avoid if you can!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,388 reviews
0.2 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
433 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,205 reviews
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 12,124 - ₹ 23,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing