We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice”
Review of The Gonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gonville Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed at the Gonville Hotel for one night and was very pleased with it. The rooms were clean and nice and included free wifi which is a plus.
The breakfast was also very nice and included a good variety of food.
The hotel overlooks a big green area and is very close to the center of Cambridge.
It is a standard chain hotel but if you want a clean, comfortable and pleasant stay I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basakina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,686 - 1,690 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a great hotel, really well located in the centre of Cambridge with the bonus of its own car park. The staff were excellent and our room was modern, clean and comfortable. I wasn't intending to mention the noise, as it's not the hotel's fault - but we did ask for a quiet room. We were located at the front of the hotel overlooking the open space. This turned out to be an area where people congregate (non to quietly) all night. We finally properly got to sleep after 5am having discounted checking out at that time to come home. Noise aside, this is a great hotel, but my advice at weekends is not to book a room at the front.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RwRoddie, General Manager at The Gonville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I was sorry to learn that your stay with us was disturbed by a party of people on the park. I can assure you this does not happen often and must have been some people making their way home after a late show at the Corn exchange or a night out at one of the Nightclubs. Our rooms at the front of the hotel, like all our other newly refurbished rooms, are double glazed and fitted with air conditioning to cut down such distrubances , and as we are that bit back from the road, these are usually the first rooms to be requested as they have the beautiful view of the famous Parkers Piece.

Please accept my apologies for not giving you a quieter room; this must have been a missed as our allocations usually reflect such requests. However I was pleased that you found the room to be to a high standard and the staff excellent! We hope look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Roderick Watson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have stayed at the Gonville several times and it is always clean and comfortable. There was extra heating provided in the room as the weather was absolutely freezing.Breakfast was beautifully cooked to order. The staff were friendly and polite.
My only complaint is that I do not like the lack of privacy in the bathroom, due to a badly fitting sliding glass door.
Looking forward to our next stay for graduation !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I always enjoy staying at the Gonville, it is clean and comfortable with good food and firndly staff

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenLongsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed for two nights as it was my girlfriends 40th birthday, we took our greyhound as the hotel is dog friendly. I arranged flowers to be put in our room through the hotel. I can't fault the room or the staff both were better than I expected. The hotel was nice and warm which was just as well as we saw -13 degrees outside. Opposite is a huge grassed park where we could walk the dog and it had plenty of poo bins. Museums and shops are a short walk away, just watch out for the cyclists who are every where it being a university city.
Breakfast was very good and is served in the restaurant. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and that is where things could be improved. The waiting staff are very good and friendly. I had lamb the first night and it tasted and looked just like steak, this was because of the way it was cooked (so I was told). As a steak it tasted fine so other than expecting it to taste like lamb I had no complaints. The second evening my girlfriend ordered fishcakes and got a salad as a starter, that went back and we got what we ordered. It was the chefs error and the waiting staff were very apologetic. I had duck as a main the breast was very chewy but everything else was A1. I would suggest that you look at the menu carefully, the chef likes to mix and match and you may not see that the seafood comes in a salsa sauce rather than a cream sauce (which I hoped for) my girlfriend had this and said it was really good. Overall the food got a 85% from us. Staff 110%. Hotel and bar 100%.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.4 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,494 reviews
0.2 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#7 of 36 in Cambridge
447 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
957 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gonville Hotel

Address: Gonville Place, Cambridge CB1 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 10,296 - ₹ 17,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gonville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run 4 star 84 bedroom hotel, with recently refurbished public areas and rooms. Virtual concierge system in all rooms via Apple Ipads make service requests easy by the touch of a button. Free Fibre Optic high speed Wifi throughout. Limited on site car parking for residents. Located in central Cambridge overlooking the famous Parker's Peice a 25 acre open park, near to the rail and coach stations. Ideal for visiting the many Historic University buildings and close to the main shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing