We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“will stay here again”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Good convenient location, therefore there is charge for car parking; helpfull reception staff; clean spotless rooms as well as bathroom, sorry but no toilet brush; comfortable beds. Breakfast was exellent, breakfast area has fantastic view.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    772
    376
    177
    79
See reviews for
446
840
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Had a 3 night stay in the Doubletree Hilton and, by and large, it was enjoyable. The location is excellent, on the river and only 5 minutes walk to the centre of the city. The room wasn't spacious but was adequate and it wasn't spotlessly clean but was acceptable as we aren't the sort of guests who go looking for something to complain about. The breakfasts were also fine and, at a special rate of £12 each, were reasonable value although I agree with a previous reviewer that using powdered egg for the scrambled eggs seems a bit poor.

Even a £17.50 overnight parking charge didn't seem excessive ... what I really objected to was the £15 per day charge for wi-fi! We paid almost £300 per night for a river view room and they can't throw in free wi-fi? That's just greedy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AitziberH, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I was very pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, however sorry to read that you were not happy with the wifi charges. We do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and wifi access to all our residents. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed with family and friends for a wedding in Cambridge. Hotel is very well situated, so nice to be able to sit outside overlooking the river and punts/boats.
Very busy change over on Saturday, so a bit hectic waiting for rooms, but the reception was as helpful as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

tranquil atmosphere, good location by the river cam. they give you free cookies upon check-in. and they're freshly baked, with the chocolate chips still melting in your mouth. breakfast selection was very good, and the dining area is so peaceful. you can choose to sit al fresco in the garden by the river cam, and see the the punters and people biking and walking in the quiet walkway. internet is not free though for such a high-end hotel chain, expensive at 15 pounds overnight. in this day and age, even the smallest hostels and inns already offer free internet together with the room rate. air-conditioning was spotty though in the room given to us. but overall, hotel was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree to attend a wedding in Cambridge. We arrived early for check-in but the very friendly receptionist said our room wouldn't be ready for half an hour so we had a very pleasant walk around the city- the hotel is ideally situated overlooking the River Cam and convenient for punt hire, riverside pubs and the city centre itself so no need for a car( parking is onsite and £17.50 per day-but well worth it.)
Our room was very pleasant and had a balcony overlooking the river. We had a superking bed, large wall-mounted tv,tea/coffee making facilities,mini bar(but electronically controlled so if you lift anything in it , it will be charged!) the bathroom was a good size and well stocked with toiletries.
Breakast was buffet style with a chef preparing eggs to order-it did have one of those awful conveyor type toasters which meant you had to queue a little but so what, the rest of the breakfast made up for it and it was the weekend!
We returned to the bar after the wedding where the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
Definitely a good stay with friendly,helpful staff -we would definitely stay here on any return visit.

Room Tip: King size with floor to ceiling windows or superking with balcony are very comfortable and great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougalsmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
0.8 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,756 reviews
1.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#3 of 36 in Cambridge
423 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,705 - ₹ 28,120
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing