We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No free wifi”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

No free wifi was disappointing in a hotel of this standard

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ljw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to see that overall you rated us as very good, however sorry to know that you were not happy with the wifi charges. We do offer complimentary use of our Business centre on the ground floor, with free use of our computers, printing and wifi access. My apologies if this was not explained to you on check in. I hope that in the future you may decide to return to the hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    760
    366
    167
    64
See reviews for
429
820
92
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Beautiful hotel. The staff were very welcoming & I would like to give a special mention to the maids who work so hard cleaning the rooms. It is a lovely location by the river & it is only a short walk into town. We had a standard room which was fine but try & get an upgrade if you can. The breakfast catered for all nationalities, and was great. The food in the restaurant was fine but the wine was expensive. It averaged £27 a bottle . Look out for wine of the week which cost £18.95.
Only one niggle . When my husband went to order a drink at the bar he had to wait over 5 minutes to be served whilst the staff finished their conversation & then it took an age for the drinks to arrive. It was not busy at the time. However I do recommend this hotel & we would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manathu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Manathu, thank you for your recent review, we are very pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, with an especial mention to our housekeeping team members. However I was sorry to know of the slow service you received from our bar staff, for which I sincerely apologise. Our Food & Beverage Manager will investigate and commence further staff training where necessary. Thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Despite the building not having masses of character, the position is lovely, overlooking the river, and only a five minute walk to the town centre. But most impressive was the service. For example, we left a bottle of champagne in the minibar when we went out, and the staff had put it into a bucket of ice with a nice note for our return. When we didn't drink it that night, they did the same the second night. All staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We would happily return there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always a pleasure to receive comments such as yours and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team I know they will be pleased to know that their hard work and attention to detail does not go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I very much enjoyed my 2 night stay in the doubletree. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and the concierge was very helpful. One thing I would say is the rooms could have had more storage space e.g. draws and wardrobe space and the hair dryer could have been a lot better. The curtains also only closed halfway which was annoying when the sun was blazing through! The room was a good size but the space could have been more effectively used. Also the cost of the car park and the wifi were pretty astronomical! On a good note, the breakfast was delicious, the hotel was very modern and tasteful and the service was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiehodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Very helpful staff, the requests we made re rooms at time of booking were met, lovely location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aitziber H, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear James
Thank you for your recent review, your feedback is always appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.8 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#15 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,320 - ₹ 32,450
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing