We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveller rating
157
237
214
115
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
237
214
115
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fitzwilliam museum traditional hotel trouser press night porter city centre kings college two night stay large bathroom breakfast was excellent buffet style comfortable hotel twin room enjoyable stay buyagift
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 779 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I appreciate this is an old hotel in the centre of Cambridge, but this hotel is in serious need of a makeover.....and this was in one of the exec double rooms.....the room was like a furnace, ground floor so you wouldn't want to open the windows onto the busy main road outside. Even with windows closed noise from the road keeps you awake, you could clearly hear ever footstep of everyone in each surrounding room. Bathroom poor with shower that was broken and dangerous looking electrics in the bedroom !!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Compass575178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Man with no name.
Having booked a city centre hotel on one of the main roads in Cambridge unfortunately a downside is some traffic noise. If the room was too warm then turning off the radiator and venting the room does help. It is a shame you did not enjoy the room as it had just received a restored Edwardian antique bed complete with new mattress, a new carpet and was recently painted. The shower was intermittent I agree and was renewed the day you stayed.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Stayed here for one night (a treat from family to get away without the kids). A great location in Cambridge for a night out. Nice enough public areas and plenty of character. Our room, a standard double, was dismal, in need of a complete refit of bathroom, cracked showerhead, crumbling paintwork, undusted areas, worn carpets. No bottled water in the room, standard in even budget hotels. The breakfast was fine and staff seemed attentive and friendly enough.

Room tip: Our room was on 1st level, avoid at all costs
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Mark E
Thank you for the post and I am sorry you did not enjoy your bedroom provision but did enjoy your breakfast.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Having read previous reviews we were a liitle apprehensive as to what to expect but this hotel did exceed our expectations. My sister and I stayed here overnight on the Friday as a package deal inclusive of dinner and breakfast bought for us as a gift. . I had contacted the hotel prior to ask about parking and if possible to have a room at the back. Our request was honoured and we had a twin room overlooking the car park which was quiet. The room was immaculately clean and a very good size. The bathroom was a lovely size too, very clean with everything well provided. The only minor issue with the room was the bathroom door did not close and a duvet cover was split down the side. Otherwise great. Dinner was excellent food delicious, hot and freshly cooked but service was lacking a happy smile. There isn't a great choice but we had the steak and was well worth it. They give you an allowance towards your meal so its the same menu. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice and the hot food was freshly prepared and not at all grreasy. The staff were very accommodating but lacked a smile or two. Free wifi. My biggest disappointment is the charge of £15 for overnight parking for residents. I don't understand why, non-residents at £20 per 24 hrs only £5 difference? Certainly couldn't afford to stay here more than one night with such a charge. Hence not giving a full rating.

Room tip: Our twin room was 223 at the back
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear 4Kazza

Thank you for the post and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us in Cambridge.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Booked the hotel for a New Years Eve Party and overnight stay. The hotel was in a great location, being approx 5 minutes walk from the centre of Cambridge. Hotel had lots of character and lovely staff who were all very helpful, our room was very spacious and very clean. The New Years Eve party was a great success and everyone had a good time, food was good for the price and breakfast next morning was lovely. I would definitely visit this hotel again when staying in Cambridge.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSandraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear MrsSandraL
Thank you for the post and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Old style hotel with sash windows, dark wood doors and furniture, unusual carpets, very different from a chain hotel but I quite liked it. Room was a reasonable size, bathroom a good size as well. Heating wasn't great in the room and none in the bathroom but shower was hot and bed was comfy. Breakfast was good with a wide selection. I'd stay here again for a night but probably not for more.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank danielled290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R, General Manager at Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Danielle D
Thank you for your post and glad you found the hotel chic rather than shabby, we hope to see you again soon
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews