We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Brunch , Full Aussie Delicious”
Review of Six

Six
Ranked #54 of 761 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 44
Description: Located on the top floor beneath The Roof Top Garden of The Varsity Hotel with breathtaking 360° panoramic views across the Cambridge skyline. Our relaxed brasserie and cocktail bar boasts stunning views across the city. Open all day serving delicious Gourmet Woodstone Pizza's, Rotisserie Chicken , Small Plates, Ice Cream Sundae's along with Cocktails & over 30 Gins paired with 8 different gins.
Restaurant details
Description: Located on the top floor beneath The Roof Top Garden of The Varsity Hotel with breathtaking 360° panoramic views across the Cambridge skyline. Our relaxed brasserie and cocktail bar boasts stunning views across the city. Open all day serving delicious Gourmet Woodstone Pizza's, Rotisserie Chicken , Small Plates, Ice Cream Sundae's along with Cocktails & over 30 Gins paired with 8 different gins.
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Five of us were back at College and wanted to catch up , ended up at six for Brunch.Fantastic views watching the sunrise over our college.The restaurant was full at 11.30 am so we had to wait 20 mins or so for a table.Manager offered us coffees , my capuccino was well made , 2/3rd milk and 1/3 froth and piping hot We enjoyed a selection , the full aussie was delicious ,avocado , sausages and roast tomato etc.Friends had the eggs benedict and smashed avocado on toast , good size portions.Service was not intrusive as you would expect at breakfast/brunch , background music made you feel relaxed.We left happy and stuffed.Perfect place to bring a date:)

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lucachiari2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 609 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We came as a family treat for brunch. From the moment the doorman opened the door for us at the hotel it felt special. The views from all of the restaurant tables are spectacular, and the service is impeccable. All of our food was great - I had probably the best pancakes with maple syrup and bacon I've ever had, and I've eaten in a fair few good diners in the USA before.

Ok, so you pay ever so slightly more than you would in an run-of-the-mill restaurant - but this isn't an average restaurant. I would have paid that just for the joy of sitting there soaking up the Cambridge views!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank EloiseJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Firstly I would point out it is easier to use the stairs here as the lift is ultra slow!!!
The restaurant has fantastic panoramic views and upon arrival the restaurant looks very classy and well kept. Our table was ready early so we sat down at a table for four with a lovely view by the window.
The cocktail menu was fab and our party tried a few different ones, would definitely recommend the Amaretto Sour and the Appletini.
We skipped starters but between us had Pizza, Steak and Fish, with some sides also. All the meals were fantastic and would definitely recommend the side of macaroni cheese! We had an excellent waiter who was extremely accommodating. He even updated us on the arrival of our courses. We all had dessert as well, which of you have room is a must!
Will be returning to this restaurant asap. And already wanting to book a table in the summer to soak up the views and atmosphere again.;)

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Katygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We had stayed at this hotel before and had heard good things about Six.What a delight , we booked for lunch and with the first sight of the views we were gobsmacked!
Fantastic vista.Bar menu has a good selection of drinks being a Saturday i went for a glass of malbec, large glass under £7 paid much more in the Shard though view was different but equally as good from oblix.
The burrata was highlight of the meal as i've only ever seen it served in London, figs were ripe and bruschetta crisp.
My main course Steak was good and the creme brulee finished off a perfect afternoon.Could have happily spent the afternoon watching the sunset.Good choice for lunch.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henrysalkin235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We went to try out Six aptly named as it is on the sixth floor of the Varsity Hotel , which has already great reputation for it's roof terrace.
Decor as others have described is modern and comfortable , quite different to all else in Cambridge.First thing you notice is the view , its unique and 360 glass all way round hence no "bad" tables as they all show different aspects of the city.
My husband wanted to try the lahore chicken curry , i did the roast lamb pizza.We enjoyed them both and left content to the face the cold winters day.Good value will be back with friends visiting Cambridge next week.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tamarakinworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Six also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Six? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing