We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not bad, a little tired”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

On arrival at the hotel it looked very nice, fairly modern and all communal areas were clean.
Check in was fast, as we we're there early for a wedding a room was available before midday.
The room was as expected, spacious, clean and the bedroom looked as tho it had been refreshed recently.
The bathroom was very tired, mainly clean but lacking any finesse.
The thermostatic shower although being loose on the wall provided a decent shower.
We had a light lunch which lacked customer service, we ordered 4 meals and 5 arrived, wine which was ordered never earrived, generally that was sloppy.
The bar had a good selection of drinks.
Overall good value but in need of some tweaks.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horse1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear horse1uk

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am sorry to learn of the "tweaks" you describe, its always disappointing to learn when things are not quite right.
Your feedback regarding the bathroom is similar to another guests of recent, further to which we are in the process of completing a bathroom review to capture any tiredness issues and in turn apply a general refresh.
Really sorry about the lunch service, the necessary training is under-way to address the issue and prevent such sloppiness in future.

Many thanks for your great feedback

Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    301
    172
    63
    35
See reviews for
175
208
32
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Standard Holiday Inn but I got to my room and was met by a spider in the bed I then tried to call room service to order food and the phone didnt work.
Parking was also incredibly difficult - I think alot of people use the gym.
They did change my room when I walkedto reception and told them the issues.
New room had broken draw but apart from that was fine.
Room service was OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mileage-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Mileage-Queen

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am sorry that we failed to provide a more positive experience than your feedback suggests, I am however pleased that we were able to re-accommodate you into an alternative room.

I sincerely hope that we can look forward to having the opportunity to providing a better experience should you visit the area again in the future.

Many thanks

Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aylesbury hotels

1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

There was noone at the reception desk for starters, then we were told to put our card in the reader incase we chargd anything to the room which was fair enough, but when it cme to leaving the receptionist said thts just 62 for the rm, to which we said it was already paid she then walkd into the bk and cme out and said okay, when we got hme we found tht another payment for the rm had been taken out we are still tryin to get our money bk, the receptionist seemd tdn bord to serve us overall very bad attitude, wont b stayin here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Caz1403

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am sorry that the Receptionist who was on duty failed to provide a positive experience when they were completing you hotel departure, and also that through a lack of general care and poor service you had the additional charge applied to your card.

Once again my sincere apologies.

Yours sincerely
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had an excellent stay booked through superbreaks £120 for 2 nights easter weekend 2 people breakfast 2 days dinner 1 night bargain!!! We literally just went for a break headed to oxford one day. Your a £5 taxi ride from atelsbury town with waterside theatre and pubs all close togethor. Found reception so helpful when we arrived room pretty good and nicely laid out. Went to bar average prices (£7 for 2 drinks) stuart the barman was brilliant as were all the lads behind the bar that evening but stuart made a real effort with everyone! Breakfast was really really nice! Dinner was great from looks of prices not too bad either although the portions were huge! Way too much! But overall brilliant stay and would visit again without a doubt! Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannhev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear dannhev

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response.

It is always most rewarding to learn when the hotel team have successfully provided a positive and memorable experience to our guests. Thanks for your great feedback and the call out for Stuart, he will be delighted.

Many thanks
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Booked this hotel to meet up with friends we'd not seen for a while - I booked 3 rooms in all. Booked through Superbreak for £90 per room for 2 nights including dinner on the 1st night-bargain!

We & another group of friends were upgraded to Executive rooms without prompting - may have been the only family rooms left- the hotel was busy a nd several coach parties. Our other friends had a double(standard) fairly close by. The rooms were great:modern, spacious, bottles of water, mini fridge(fab), bath robes(not used) and sliding doors instead of blinds (good for blocking light) & a large screen TV with HD channels(great for kids). The only thing was there was an odd smell in our room from the start - it wasn't a big deal so didn't say anything and didn't spoil the stay. I slept better than at home! We were all quite far from Reception but that was fine for us but may be an issue if you have mobility issues.

As a Holday Inn regular the breakfast more than lived up to expectations:great hot choice including black pudding & the meat was decent quality in the bacon & sausages. Usual array of fruit, breads -croissant, pain au chocolat, pain au raisin,(regularly topped up), toast, cereals (they even got frosties for our 2nd day after none was avaiable the 1st morning). Staff in the Restaurant were particularly friendly although they were noticeably helpful and friendly in every part of the hotel- printed off instructions for Coombe Hill for an Easter Egg hunt & happily arranged taxis (£5 into Aylesbury).

We had an inclusive dinner on the 1st night. The choice and quality was slightly disappointing -not sure if we could have gone of the main menu -we all went off the buffet . Have had better choice at other holiday inns but it was acceptable. Drinks are pricey but what you would expect at a hotel.

The reception and lounge areas are modern, spacious and welcoming. We spent a fair bit of time in the lounge just chatting -sky sports on many screens if required.

We made full use of the leisure facilities;me & the kids had 4 sessions in the pool/hot tub over our stay. Not too busy, clean & nice changing rooms. There was also a sauna and steam room as well as a well equipped gym(I'm told).

All in all a great stay and would be happy to return. Recommend also the Roald Dahl gallery and both Coombe Hill and Wendover Woodsfor walks,

Room Tip: Rooms far away from Reception are quiet bt a long walk to the 'action'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekkerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear dekkerb

Thank you for your Trip Advisor response.

I am delighted that we were able to provide your family a fabulous Easter weekend at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.
It is always such a great pleasure to learn that the hotel team have once again delivered a great experience for our guests.

Hope to see you back

Many thanks
Ian Rees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
3.8 km away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
5.4 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
11.5 km away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.2 km away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Property: Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,190 - ₹ 10,250
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing