We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas”
Review of Pata Negra

Pata Negra
Ranked #183 of 1,847 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We had some excellent tapas here before going on to a show at the Bristol old Vic. Lovely atmosphere and terrific food-we shared 8 dishes and they were all very good. I particularly enjoyed the Tuna tartare but everything was tasty. Deserves it's reputation.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank BigKevTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Lovely location in the pedestrianized area of Bristol and a beautiful building.
Seated quickly on a Saturday night.
Ordered a variety of tapas across all genres - all very good.
Nice Malbec by the glass.
No hurry - great evening.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DCJ_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Great aesthetic, friendly staff but disappointing execution. Catalan bread was burnt, sent back. Crab on sourdough served burnt, sent back. We were told this was "how they normally serve it". Still have the taste of carbon 3 hours later.

The dishes that were replaced weren't toasted enough. I think this is over compensating for the initial issue and to be fair is understandable.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 53julies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We go to Spain a lot and have always enjoyed tapas and the atmosphere in the bars; Pata Negra ticked all of the authentic boxes from staff to food quality it made us feel as if we had been transported to Spain for the evening.

The decor is very eclectic and the atmosphere very welcoming. The service team were very friendly, attentive and efficient and the food tastes were excellent. VFM was first class and backed up by a wide ranging wine list. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank redgolf815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

I had read several good reviews of this place prior to visiting and had always wanted to come. I must say it exceeded my expectations.

To start with the atmosphere is great. We decided to drive to Bristol to stay the night after we finished work one Friday and wondered into here at around 9pm. There was an amazing buzz almost akin to a bar. A cool selection of tapas ranging from the usual potatas Bravas and albondigas to Tuna Tartar (which was lovely) and home made pork scratchings. We shared 7 dishes between two and they were brilliant. The marinated anchovies delicious and the chorizo with Spanish scotch egg Devine. A good selection of beers also tops it off.

Superb service and for the price I'd say an absolute bargain.

One of my favourite places I've been.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank BombardiarL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pata Negra also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Pata Negra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing