We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 92
US$ 78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 87
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 147
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 111
US$ 106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 131
US$ 127
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 98
US$ 82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 102
US$ 86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
25
14
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
14
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationwashing machinefriday and saturdaycar parkingcentral locationapartmentpropertytowelsbathtvnoiseplugheating
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We chose this property based on its location. It was central to the areas we were visiting and seemed to be in a great spot in Bristol right on the river bank near a lovely park. Unfortunately, the location turned out to be the biggest downfall of this place. Late night bar-hoppers and early morning garbage collectors proved to be our undoing. This property has no air-conditioning, so for a stay in the summer, open windows were a necessity. The room was comfortably cool at night so that wasn´t the issue. The issue was having to keep windows open so that all the noise from below could float up our way late into the night (or shall I say early morning until about 2 a.m.). Then sometime between 7 and 8 a.m., the garbage collectors would dump all those glass bottles into their bins. The property managers obviously knew of the noise because they provided us with complimentary earplugs! No kidding, we found them on the bed upon arrival. Oh, and the bed was advertised as a KING sized bed for the three studio apartments we rented, but none of them had a king sized bed at all. I am sad to give such a low rating because the property itself is lovely, clean and well managed. But as they say... location, location, location. If you must rent from this property, then request rooms that are NOT facing the river.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Cathe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACO_Team, General Manager at SACO Bristol - West India House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Cathe F,

Thank you for your honest review of SACO West India House. The property enjoys a prime position in Bristols waterside and it is very close to all amenities as you have mentioned. Our guests really appreciate this as a city centre located property.
It is very disappointing to read that the outside noise disturbed you on your stay with us. Bristols harbourside area, and riverside area that West India House is located on, does indeed attract many visitors especially in the summer months. Along with the increased numbers comes with it increased 'city noise' that our guests may be sensitive to. We have included ear plugs to help to increase our guests experience due to the City centre location. Due to the building being listed we are unable to change the period Sash Windows, however our program of refurbishment will include secondary glazing units fitted to all apartments to increase the sound proofing for future guests.
Our beds in West India House are all UK king size beds being 5ft wide, unfortunately these are not comparable to the US sized King size mattresses.
It is really appreciative to know that you thought our property was clean, lovely and well managed. I can only apologise that the noise beyond our control disturbed you during your stay. We would be only too happy to advise you on your reservation to minimise your disturbance again on future stays with us. Kind regards Jon Wakeford, Apartment Manager, SACO Broad Quay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Despite being central and close to bars etc. the apartment was very quiet.
Apartment was clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Welcome pack was much appreciated as was the customer service provided by Izzy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank E3705KValanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACO_Team, General Manager at SACO Bristol - West India House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

E3705KValanb,

Thank you very much for your honest review of SACO West India House it is great to read that you found the apartments central and very quiet. It is fantastic to know that we can pass on to our staff your appreciations for their customer service and that you felt your apartment was clean, comfortable and well equipped.

We look forward to wlecoming you back to SACO West India House in future

Kind regards
Jon Wakeford
Apartment Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

A perfect location for all the excursions and discovers of the area. Excessive outside noise from bottles
thrown into the trash can not let you sleep (on both sides of the hotel).
Modern electrical appliances with reliable operation but also a very small lift.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ioannisn419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACO_Team, General Manager at SACO Bristol - West India House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

ioannisn419,

Thank you for your honest review of SACO West India House. We are really pleased that you thought it was an excellent location for all excursions and discoveries of the area. Both our Bristol Apartment locations are very central within the city, noise associated with this can be detrimental to some guests comfort. However this is to be expected with a city centre location. We have installed secondary glazing to many of our front facing apartments to improve the sound proofing of the period Sash windows to the property. As SACO West India House is a listed building modern double glazing units cannot be installed.
We hope that we can welcome you back to a SACO property in your future stays.

Kind regards

Jon Wakeford
Apartment Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Besides the heat (exceptional weather) and no airconditioning the space was nice and spatious. The living room could be used more efficiently though by adding another sitting area besides the couch. The shower is really large, and a bath would be better use of the space.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P4716WAdaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACO_Team, General Manager at SACO Bristol - West India House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

P4716WAdaved,

Thank you for your review of SACO West India House. We are glad that you thought that the space was nice and spacious for you. We will certainly look at your suggestions for improving the seating area in the living room, with the Bathroom suggestion it is also something that we thank you for your feedback. We value all feedback from our guests.

We hope that we can welcome you back to SACO West India House in future.

Kind regards

Jon Wakeford
Apartment Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Very clean place, great location in downtown Bristol. Had a nice view from our room. Quiet building. If you are looking for a place that cleans your room everyday, then not for you as we stayed for 7 days and they cleaned it once. But we were aware of that and we happy with that. Close to pubs restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deansQ7563OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACO_Team, General Manager at SACO Bristol - West India House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you deansQ7563OM for your review of SACO West India House. It is great to see that you thought our apartments were clean, was a in a great location and that you enjoyed a nice view from your One Bedroom Superior apartment. Its also nice to know that you enjoyed a peaceful stay with us. We have invested in secondary glazing in most apartments to provide additional soundproofing to the original Sash windows present in the period building.
We hope that you will again visit SACO West India House or our other property SACO Broad Quay for your future stays in Bristol.
Kind regards
Jon Wakeford
Apartment Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews