We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character but small & dark room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Character but small & dark room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Hotel Du Vin is an old warehouse that has been refurbished as a boutique hotel and it has the quirks that go with an old building. My room was on the 3rd floor which they called "under the eaves". It was very dark and even with all the lights on I had difficulty reading at the desk and in bed. It was also small - just enough room for the huge king size bed and so tight that I kept barking my shins on the very solid end of the bed. It was also very hot inside - I slept with the window open and it was still like a sauna - in April! On the plus side, it has character and the very functional wireless internet is free. Cooked breakfast was not included and was quite expensive but good. Overall it was okay for a night but the heat and especially the dark cave-like room would have driven me to another place if it had been an extended stay.

Room Tip: The king size bed takes up too much of the room. Maybe opt for a smaller bed if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    320
    120
    63
    26
See reviews for
139
631
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

A lovely place to stay - good bedrooms and excellent food. One of the best breakfasts you will find. Also, great room rates for off peak including Sundays. I have known this particular HdV for a number of years and the service, which used to be excellent, has slipped to good. The service is less formal now (nothing wrong with that) but less efficient, especially when checking in/out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here for a night in March and was highly impressed. I initially booked a single but this was upgraded, seamlessly and without extra cost, when my son needed a bed for the night. The reception was charming and genuinely helpful. Rooms are quirky but very comfortable, with lots of welcome amenities. Dinner was appealing but perhaps a bit less special than I was expecting. Breakfast freshly cooked with plenty of choice. Overall, a fine experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different and vary quite a bit in size but the amenities are all the same. Let the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed one night and really experienced this hotel. I was upgraded to their largest sweet which includes a living room and a 2nd floor loft bathroom that overlooks the bedroom. The loft has his and hers clawfoot tubs and a giant walk in shower with an enormous rainfall shower head. The coffe and milk are complimentary in suite as well. That night I ate with friends at the Bistro and enjoyed a beautiful bottle of wine from their impressive collection. The chicken liver pate appitizer was amazingly smooth and tasty and served with warm toasted brioch. The lamb course came with ratatoille and potatoes. Very good as well, though not for the faint of wallet. . . Overall a super experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NB3542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

You always know that you are going to something a bit different at Hotel du Vin. This is the third one I have been to and it didn't disappoint. Fantastic bedrooms, very attractive bar and dining area. The bathroom was awesome! We stayed on a Sunday so got an excellent rate. The only thing that was unfortunate was the way the cooked breakfast was brought out before we had finished out cereal. That said, we had a great time and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
0.5 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,211 - ₹ 18,543
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing