We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“diabolical” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“diabolical”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

it started with our initial wine selection not being available, an argument with the waitress about a bottle of corked wine, through to overpriced average food with a stone cold tart tatin, we were then left in an empty restaurant, for half an hour to top up our own wine, but still charged 12.5 % service,, to find our own coats which were on the floor of the cloakroom, as we left the barman shouted out see you mate "class"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

We would very much ask that you contact the hotel directly so that we can ascertain when you stayed with us and who looked after you during your stay so that we may take some corrective action.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    313
    117
    61
    26
See reviews for
138
625
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night for our anniversary. We were very impressed with the room, especially the bathroom which had a lovely roll top bath and nice toiletries and which was spotlessly clean. The hotel has a cosy and relaxed feel to it with big soft sofas and armchairs in the bar area and the staff especially in the bistro and bar were extremely helpful and friendly. The meal we had in the bistro was amazing and was quite possibly one of the nicest meals I have ever had.

Overall, My husband and I had a great stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We look forward to trying out other Hotel du Vin's across the UK.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMcEniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent - stayed overnight, and had a family dinner. Interesting buildings, great dinner, wine better than that, and very comfortable room. The only downside is that the rooms are dark. Good that they have energy saving bulbs, but it really does need some central lighting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Treated my girlfriend to a two night stay in the Vueve Clicquot suite, all I can say is WOW ultimate luxury with twin roll top baths! We will definatley return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for a birthday treat, and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even down to changing a note for us so we could get the bus when we went out sightseeing. The room was beautifully decorated (although a little dimly lit) and the bathroom was luxurious, with monsoon shower and free-standing bath. The bed was fantastically comfortable.
Some people have mentioned noise, but the rooms are set back from the road so it's not too noticeable. It's balanced out by the fact that it's such a great central location - you don't expect perfect peace in the middle of the city. The binmen did turn up in the morning and make a racket briefly, but there's not much a hotel can do about that! The bar downstairs served delicious cocktails, and the breakfast was tasty - and came with a complimentary newspaper. All in all very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linoprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,344 reviews
0.5 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,424 - ₹ 19,513
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing