We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
32
17
5
8
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
17
5
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked breakfast and toast interesting stay rooms are clean warm room full english breakfast tea and coffee two nights minute walk ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Comfortable, quiet and clean. Very reasonable rates and a lovely location. Madam Toad was very welcoming, great sense of humour. Like going to stay with your eccentric aunt. Our room was spacious and airy.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debzo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Unfortunately, stayed here for 3 nights due to house not being ready. Positives - parking and nice garden. Negatives - where should I start. Met Madam Toad on arrival who proceeded to shout at me as I did not have full amount in cash to pay for the 3 nights and would not accept card payments. Cleanliness passable but far from spotless. Free wifi, only on landings. Flat screen tv, the size of a laptop monitor. Double room had 2 camp beds pushed together which were extremely uncomfortable. Curtains, well nets really didn't stop any light so woken at daybreak. Free breakfast was served from 8am and I had to leave for work then so couldn't comment on this. 10 minute walk from city centre! Well 10 mins from harbourside. More like 30 mins from city centre (up hill I might add). I think I would have had a more comfortable stay in my car.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
5  Thank 95hjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

My most recent visit, but have been staying here regularly for the past 5 years as my daughter lives nearby. Madam Toad is always welcoming and her establishment is always clean. Towels are changed every day, which is a pleasure. Breakfast is very good, and cooked as requested, and there is plenty of cereal, nice and toast along with tea and coffee. You can choose from en suites or not and there is a large and attractive garden. The toads at every corner (light pulls, bins, duvet covers to mention but a few) are hilarious and add to the charm. it is also very competitively priced. What a delight.

Stayed: June 2017
10  Thank 1114Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful, ok it's not the Ritz, if you want that put your hand in your pocket! We stayed here for 8 weeks, Madam Toad was a great hostess, funny witty and a bit eccentric. She's a fun old dear. Warm clean and no problems. Stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
10  Thank bobestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I have stayed in Toad Lodge many times and would highly recommend it. There are many advantages; it is inexpensive for Bristol, always clean and comfortable and the price includes a cooked English breakfast. The en-suite rooms have a decent-sized shower and the rooms themselves are ample. My favourite rooms are in the attic; if you decide not to opt for en-suite, there are toilets and showers on every floor. I’ve stayed right through winter and the rooms are fully heated.
You get clean towels every day; there is liquid soap but it’s a B&B, so don’t expect “bathroom accessories” such as fancy shampoo and the like! For breakfast, there is a selection of cereals on offer, and good-quality fruit juice as well, and then the cooked breakfast and toast with tea of coffee (not filter coffee but drinkable).
There is free wifi; the signal is variable but you always get it on the landings.
You will have gathered that it’s quirky, and not the place for people with frog/toad phobias. That said, I love its individuality and uniqueness; if the weather is kind, you can sit in their stunning back garden and enjoy the flowers. There are several eateries in the area and Whiteladies Road is about a 10-minute walk - it has a vast range of restaurants and cafes. There is a very good fish and chip shop nearby on Horfield road (Kingsdown Fried Fish).
The proprietress, Madam Toad, is a national treasure and a great character. Treat her with respect and remember you’re a guest in her home, and not paying a lot of money for the privilege, and you’ll have a memorable experience.
Top tip: some of the rooms have very light curtains, so bring an eye patch if you’re affected by the sun streaming in through the windows! I have stayed in Toad Lodge many times and would highly recommend it. There are many advantages; it is inexpensive for Bristol, always clean and comfortable and the price includes a cooked English breakfast. There is limited free parking and it is necessary to mention you would like parking when booking your room. There is also free street parking available after 6pm and you need to move your car by 9am. The en-suite rooms have a decent-sized shower and the rooms themselves are ample. My favourite rooms are in the attic; if you decide not to opt for en-suite, there are toilets and showers on every floor. I’ve stayed right through winter and the rooms are fully heated.
You get clean towels every day; there is liquid soap but it’s a B&B, so don’t expect “bathroom accessories” such as fancy shampoo and the like! For breakfast, there is a selection of cereals on offer, and good-quality fruit juice as well, and then the cooked breakfast and toast with tea of coffee (not filter coffee but drinkable).
There is free wifi; the signal is variable but you always get it on the landings.
You will have gathered that it’s quirky, and not the place for people with frog/toad phobias. That said, I love its individuality and uniqueness; if the weather is kind, you can sit in their stunning back garden and enjoy the flowers. There are several eateries in the area and Whiteladies Road is about a 10-minute walk - it has a vast range of restaurants and cafes. There is a very good fish and chip shop nearby on Horfield road (Kingsdown Fried Fish).
The proprietress, Madam Toad, is a national treasure and a great character. Treat her with respect and remember you’re a guest in her home, not paying a lot of money for the privilege, and you’ll have a memorable experience.
Top tip: some of the rooms have very light curtains, so bring a sleeping mask if you’re affected by the morning sun streaming in through the windows!

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping mask if you’re affected by the morning sun streaming in through the windows!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pjdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews