We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time lucky?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before under two different names The City Inn and The Mint. It is much improved as The Hilton. However there is still room for improvement. Online I was promised a queen sized room but the reality was a tiny room with a chair that didn't fit in the room properly if you wanted to use the cupboard, the fridge etc. You couldn't stay in this room for more than two nights as it was too small. A nice iMac in the room that is your tv but no keyboard but free wifi. A bit odd. Bought a bottle of wine from room service and paid £25 for a £7.99 bottle of wine. So don't do that.
Breakfast was ok you can order poached eggs, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon etc. Pretty good but quite a wait.
Nice central location well within walking distance to most places. Overall a good hotel but rooms need work and a room service menu in the rooms would be nice.
Staff were all helpful. Not quite up to normal Hilton Standards. Wondering if the garden inn addition to the name means it's a cheaper version?

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troublefishblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chia G, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us.

Being newly re branded we are still changing lots of procedures and hope you see the improvement next time you visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,145)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,692 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

The room was comfortable and clean . I tried to contact reception but did not get a response. I required extra milk. A biscuit would not have gone amiss on the tea tray in the room. The breakfast was poor. We ordered black pudding and it arrived when our breakfast was finished. I do not like making my toast as my food gets cold. Three goes to brown the toast. The food area was poorly arranged. The staff seemed to be trying their best but there appeared to be a lack of leadership. They were all working in a vaccum.

Room Tip: The back rooms looking towards the graveyard are quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isobelmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your stay with us, we are sorry that you were disapointed with the levels of service during breakfast and would like to thank you for bringing to our attention.

We hope that we can welcome you back and restore your faith in the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I booked a room at this hotel for £50 when we were travelling in this region and I thought it was incredible value for money.

Clean and quiet, decent location (we just walked everywhere), great bed, good bathroom and the cool Apple TVs. Apart from the fact that the rooms were a little on the small side, this had all the ammenities of higher branded Hilton.

Staff were everything I expected from a Hilton hotel. Also, when our friends visited us at the hotel for an hour they simply waved their parking charge. Excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp6283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay here at Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very good hotel, clean and quite new. Breakfast room was also quite good.

Shame about the moody receptionist, service WITHOUT a smile, but overall hotel was very good.

Room Tip: Look around for good deals on the internet!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honky_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay here at Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre. I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel, and apologise for the lack of service from our front office team during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Having stayed at the hotel previously when it was a City Inn/Mint hotel we were a little apprehensive as to whether the previous hotel group's individual nature would be submerged in corporate greyness. However, if anything, the hotel has improved - without exception all staff were excellent, food was of a high standard (we opted for a remarkably good value GBP 100 dinner, bed and breakfast deal), and the refurbishment that had been carried out had been well-executed. Minus points? The rooms are small for two people - the bathrooms very much so, and parking in the hotel car park is expensive (there is on-street parking that's free overnight but you have to feed the pay-and-display machine at 08:00). Overall, a comfortable and pleasant stay

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook a park, at the front they overlook the main road. However, noise insulati...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBCGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay here at Hilton Garden Inn, Bristol City Centre. I am so glad you feel we have kept the services levels to a very high standard and that you have noticed the refurbishment.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our team here at Hilton Garden Inn, I have passed them on to the team and they received lots of big smiles.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre.

Chia Gaddess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,683 reviews
1.0 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 5,805 - ₹ 13,997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing