We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Channings Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
36
49
37
29
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
49
37
29
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beer gardenno liftwalk into townlovely buildingtea making facilitiestop floora bit tireda great nights sleepsmall roomdouble bedbristol centrecentral locationcliftonparking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Once again a good stay at this hotel. Warm room, good shower comply bed. Ate in the Hotel and we both enjoyed the food. Good atmosphere at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed on four seperate occasions,for multiple nights,,,perfect every time,,many thanx
Merry Christmas to you all see you again in the new year.
Mr Bruce Dorling ,Sevenoaks energy,,Kent

Room Tip: Paul weller ,or Good fellers aint bad :)
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

If you are looking for a warm, clean room and bathroom (mine had a lovely power shower, load of hot water), comfy bed and not looking to pay thought the teeth for it, be close to town then give Channings a try.
An old building needing some refurb for sure but you can see work in hand to address this. Having having stayed at Ibis, Travel Lodge on same price comparison but location all wrong Channings offers a more personal management style and very friendly environment.
Channing's new management team could not go out of their way to welcome us. Twice the local taxis were late and we were offered to be driven to town. On the morning I was leaving I even had luggage in the host's car and sitting in the front seat ready top be taken to the station when the taxi finally arrived. Can you see other hotels doning this.

There is a large bar as part of the hotel, but not being a drinker did not use it but it did seem popular and pleasent and no noise could be heard from the room.

For some practical information the taxi from Temple Mead train station is around £8 and into town walking distance or £5 by taxis if you dont want to walk.

If you want all mod cons, of plush reception, lift, parking then pay the going price of £120-£170 pn. If you want somewhere to sleep in comfort and warmth then Channings is worth a try.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipswich_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel whilst i was working in the area. I had a great time all the staff were very accommodating and was sad to leave , the area was fantastic with two great little villages nearby and very close to bristol, rooms were fantastic value and a good all round stay andy and lesley were very helpful and vicky is a great laugh on the bar. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Vicky will sort you out
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

but it's not. Basically it's a management problem. We stayed 4 nights and with night temperatures of 1 deg.C there was no heating in our room (No. 26). We complained several times, they always claimed to have fixed it, but didn't! They did however provide us with a fan heater which was barely adequate. The housekeeping was shambolic. Although the room and bathroom were very clean on our arrival, for the next two days the bathroom wasn't cleaned, the wastebins were not emptied, the used cups were never cleaned, until we complained. The internet didn't work. In a hotel of only 10 rooms surely it would be easy enough to make spot checks to see if all the equipment was functioning as it should, if the housekeeping was upto standard. We got the impression that the management waits for the guest to complain before they do anything about it. They are a charming couple, but they need to be far more on the ball and MANAGE instead of letting the guests tell them what they should be doing.

Room Tip: Don't take second floor rooms if you have a heavy suitcase or dodgy knees!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leli2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews