We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Bristol
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

the room was comfortable and quiet, centrally located, downside was parking was extra, as was breakfast, which was a buffet, but was lukewarm. shower wasnt very hot either.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the fact that neither the breakfast or your shower was as hot as you would have liked during your recent stay, we will certainly review this however would like to assure you that they are within recommended guidelines.

We have a range of room rates which can be purchased, room only, breakfast inclusive and also a rate which includes dinner which I hope will be of help to you the next time you make a reservation with us.

With regards to our car park charges, they are charged separately to our room rates as not all guests require parking facilities and many of our corporate guests require the charges to be detailed separately on their invoice.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    528
    336
    188
    113
See reviews for
217
585
93
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

When we arrived at the Grand they were very busy checking people in but the staff were friendly and efficient. The room we were allocated had a very noisy ac unit in the hall outside the room - we asked to move and were put in a room on the floor directly underneath the first which also had a noisy ac unit. Move no 2 was a success and we were given a room on the front of the hotel. It was clean, warm, comfortable, quiet (apart from the returning hen parties - but that is hardly the hotels fault!) with an extremely comfortable bed - one of the best it was really excellent. The staff at this hotel are terrific and go the extra mile. We didn't eat there but had a cup of tea in the bar and a drink - again excellent staff

The only complaint I would have is having to pay for WiFi. For goodness sake I can go to the coffee shop down the road and get it for free why not in a hotel when I am paying to stay there? It really is just mean!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilstongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments about the staff here at the hotel and are pleased that in the main you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

With regards to our current charges for WiFi, if you sign up to our new Signature reward programme free WiFi is one of the benefits of the programme, with further benefits to be had dependant on the number of nights that you stay with one of our Thistle or Guoman hotels.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great hotel in centre of Bristol within walking distance of all the main attractions. I found the room comfortable and it was a good price for the location. The staff were friendly. Didn't try the restaurant, but from the menu, it looked lovely! Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Single rooms may be quite small for some, but I found it quite cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you found the Grand to be ideally located to visit all of the main attractions in Bristol and that you also found our staff friendly and hotel comfortable.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Another bargain break we booked in January and got he room for half price. On arrival got upgraded to a junior suite, lovely perceptive people at this hotel, they can spot derserving clients.That apart the welcome was excellent as was the room, we had taken the room only option so made our own arrangements for breakfast. You are just about next door to St Nicholas market that has loads of good value quality eateries. you are also very close to Corn Street with all the usula suspects (All bar one, wetherspoons subway etc etc)
The bed in the room was soooo comfortable and the whole room spotless and large. Bathroom is what it is and the shower was alittle old fashioned but again spic and span.
As mnetione in other reviews centrally located and handily placed for the bus staion and Temple meads (about 10 -15 walk) long taxi ride due to one way system.
Found a lovely small pub up by the council house in Bristol called the Horse and Groom. Over indulged and felt ill the next day.
The Hotel is comfortable and central, all the staff we encountered were perfectly politeand professional throughout.

Room Tip: we did contact them before hand to ask about having a quiet room to help us out. This very fortunate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickerstheheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

As a team, we really appreciate your kind comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

We do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

nice central location nice staff and hotel clean great breakfast but negatives were very cramped restaurant for breakfast, noise in room all night sounded like water tank filling nearby and very poor pillows !!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterycustomer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments following your stay with us.

I would like to apologise for the concerns that you have raised in your comments and will certainly review the standard of all of our pillows throughout the hotel. I am intrigued by your comment regarding the noise that you heard, as none of our bedrooms are affected by sounds from our water tanks.

I was pleased to read that you felt we are in a nice location and that our breakfast was good, the hotel clean and that the staff were nice.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel in the future.

With kind regards

Jacquie Hanson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.9 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#5 of 36 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Address: Broad Street, Bristol BS1 2EL, England (Formerly The Grand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#9 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,670 - ₹ 11,426
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel is a magnificent Victorian building in the heart of Bristol, close to the city's Temple Meads railway station. The Grand Hotel is an elegant, convenient base from which to explore Bristol's rich history. Local attractions include Brunel's engineering masterpieces, the ancient cathedral, and one of the region's finest shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand, Bristol Hotel Bristol
Thistle Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing