We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel for stag parties.”
Review of Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rock'n'Bowl Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Good points: obviously the price, it's also very central to the city, and the Lanes bar underneath the rooms is a great venue for a night out. The room was let down by some impressively bad wiring (see attached photo - not what you want above your head when you go to sleep) but the bathrooms are clean enough for the price. They impose a strict set of rules with attached fines, such as charging a fiver for drinking in your room. This is commendable and seemed to work as there was very little noise in the corridors. Regrettably, the only such problems came from within our group. We found that the fine we were charged did not match that which they openly listed in correspondence. We all know that when you pay a deposit up front, you have no immediate control over negotiating the appropriateness of what is deducted. These factors are not to detract from the fact that this is a good value venue for those looking for a Stag weekend on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryBambalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 596 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

Expecting to sleep before 2am?...forget it!
The bed was horizontal and we had somewhere safe to leave our bags...that's about it. £15 for bed in Bristol...what do you want for that?
Surely there are standards for human habitations...the rearing of chickens has some regulation afterall.
The nearby YHA is a paradise in comparison...actually it's very good! But they were full.

Room Tip: Try a bedroom in another hotel/YHA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Rock and Bowl Motel is a great hostel. Other reviews seem to have forgotten that it is a hostel not the Hilton. My room was clean, big enough and bright. Lots of communal space is what you need in a hostel to meet others and this has exactly that. Sure it's noisy at weekends but they tell you that on the website. Bed was comfy enough but ask for a pair of earplugs at weekends. If you want somewhere that's central for clubs, pubs and sightseeing then try this place. The staff were very friendly as well and happy to let you do your own thing. We'll stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pman-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The location couldn't be better, and the idea and place itself was cool, but definitely not clean. Only stay if you can't afford somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mimidrags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

If you have any valuables DO NOT stay at the Rock n Bowl or they wont be yours for much longer! When I checked in to the Rock N Bowl I asked the staff if my Apple mac laptop would be safe.They assured me that because my room was a private the door had a dead lock so there would be no problems.I checked into my room and left the building for 1 hour returning to find my laptop had dissapeared from my room which was strange as my door was locked! I informed the member of staff behind the counter that my laptop had been stolen and as the door was locked somebody had a key and therefore it was a member of staff.For some bizarre reason he didn't come to this conclusion and refused to call the police as he didn't think they would be interested!!When i spoke to the police they informed me that they have had many problems with security at the the Rock N Bowl and have repeatedly asked them to install cameras and swipe cards.My advice to you is to to stay well away from the Rock N Bowl because the staff have keys and are not afraid to help themselves to your property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank benlondon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
1 km away
Travelodge Bristol Central
0.7 km away
Travelodge Bristol Central Mitchell Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
751 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock'n'Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock'n'Bowl Motel

Address: 22 Nelson Street, Bristol BS1 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 1,237 - ₹ 5,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock'n'Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Bristol, Rock'n'Bowl features a 24-hour front desk, common areas with free Wi-Fi, flat TVs, a tennis table and a big courtyard. Guests benefit from several discounts at The Lanes, the on-site bowling alley and night club venue, with a special selection of beers, cocktails, a karaoke facilities, pool tables and the famous Ray's Pizza, made with daily fresh dough, buffalo mozzarella and imported Italian ingredients. A nice and healthy breakfast which includes locally roasted fresh coffee, tea, milk, jam, orange juice, toast and cereals, is included with each reservation. The on-site complex, the historical THE LANES, has club nights with many important bands and djs so please be aware that there will be noise disruption on Friday and Saturday nights in particular until about 03:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rock'n'Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock `n Bowl Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing