We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Base Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 51 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at The Base, Bristol, basically because I was booking from Australia and it seemed convenient to where my study was taking place at Downend. I had no idea of the area and when my taxi pulled up outside, my heart sank!
Firstly, there is no one to meet and greet, they say they will text a code to get into building, but we arrived about midday and nothing had arrived, luckily we located a cleaner, who let us put our bags in the yet to be cleaned room, so we caught the bus into city centre, a half hour ride, with some of the roughest people around! It would be like going to Sydney and staying in Redfern!
After 4 days, I had to ask for clean towels, via email, after 7 days of hot weather, I had to ask by email for sheets to be changed, didn't happen, some sort of misunderstanding I was told. After this and the undesirable area I had had enough, so relocated, stay here if desperate. This is a true account of my experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We are disappointed to read this review especially as your concerns could have all been avoided so easily, apart from the sheet change which was missed, and we hold our hands up to this particular matter. The Self Catering and Self Entry system is clearly stated on the website and confirmation email, also on booking.com, where you booked. You have Google's Streetview and maps at your disposal. Check in is at 3pm, so entry codes are not issued until rooms are ready, which is usually by 1pm. You had arrived 3 hours before check in but nonetheless you were humbly shown to your room by housekeeping staff and allowed to store your luggage in your room, even though they had not tended to your room as yet. We have a 24 hour support number so guests can always speak to someone. Not sure what you mean by "roughest people around", but I trust you are not referring to the vibrant multi-cultural community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    54
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
29
26
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Lovely, spacious and clean room. This end of town is not a very safe or pleasant place to be for a young female though!!! It would have been nice to have had more interaction with the owners and get more information about the b&b (although it's actually a self service place?!) as it can be quite unwelcoming to never see anyone and collect your key from a box! I've stayed at many, many b&b's in England, Europe, etc and never been to a b&b where you don't meet anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We agree Fishponds is not the prettiest part of town, but there hasn't been any trouble around here in the 5 years we've been open. We are around every day and always available on the phone. We love chatting to and helping our guests, and we're sorry we missed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for 1 week, booked from New Zealand, as visiting family nearby and didn't know what to expect, were very pleasantly surprised. So hard to find accommodation out of the city. We stayed in room4 overlooking the back garden, it gets the afternoon sun, lovely and warm and very generously sized. The bathroom was extremely large and beautifully appointed, all white, twin basins lovely and modern with extras like body shampoo dispensers in shower and above basins and the best thing was all the storage in the bathroom. Shower worked well. Great kitchen dining set up, again very generously sized and a lovely warm area. Very quiet, no slamming doors, everyone seemed very considerate during our stay. All in all a lovely retreat when the weather here has been so cold. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the main building facing the back - lovely warm and sunny Also told that one room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you ever so much Kiwi15, Room 4 is one of our best rooms, we're glad you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is the second time I've stopped here as my family lives close by. Each time I have stopped the rooms have been lovely, well presented and very clean.

They used to do an amazing breakfast but now they do a very overpriced and underwhelming breakfast. Don't buy the breakfast, prepare your own in the kitchen. It is clean and well equipped.

Aside from the breakfast this is a very comfortable place to stop. I will be stopping here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softkitty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Manager at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Yes, we are sorry to see the breakfast go too. It is a recession survival measure, but all rooms now have use of fully equipped shared kitchens. We're proud to still offer good standard rooms in Fishponds, which is a great location for UWE's Glenside, Frenchay and St Matthias campuses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marges, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We particularly enjoyed the flat on the ground floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234nadinep234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Base Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Base Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Base Bed & Breakfast
Address: 564 Fishponds Road | Fishponds, Bristol BS16 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,316 - ₹ 6,203
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in Fishponds, Bristol close'ish to University of West England (UWE) and convenient for City Centre, The Base is a primarily self-catering, down to earth, city B&B with an efficient service. With a good standard of rooms and facilities including free Wi-Fi, fully equipped kitchens, The Base is the place to recharge and prepare for your purpose. The Base has many happy customers from around the world. Card payments accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Base Bed And Breakfast
The Base Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing