We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Base Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 96
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 150
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 174
US$ 150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 96
US$ 92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 125
US$ 94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
71
55
7
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
55
7
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen weekendthe main housecommunal kitchenvictorian villacook breakfastcommunal areasnice breakfastaccommodationkeytaxidishwasher
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Lovely, spacious and clean room. This end of town is not a very safe or pleasant place to be for a young female though!!! It would have been nice to have had more interaction with the owners and get more information about the b&b (although it's actually a self service place?!) as it can be quite unwelcoming to never see anyone and collect your key from a box! I've stayed at many, many b&b's in England, Europe, etc and never been to a b&b where you don't meet anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We agree Fishponds is not the prettiest part of town, but there hasn't been any trouble around here in the 5 years we've been open. We are around every day and always available on the phone. We love chatting to and helping our guests, and we're sorry we missed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for 1 week, booked from New Zealand, as visiting family nearby and didn't know what to expect, were very pleasantly surprised. So hard to find accommodation out of the city. We stayed in room4 overlooking the back garden, it gets the afternoon sun, lovely and warm and very generously sized. The bathroom was extremely large and beautifully appointed, all white, twin basins lovely and modern with extras like body shampoo dispensers in shower and above basins and the best thing was all the storage in the bathroom. Shower worked well. Great kitchen dining set up, again very generously sized and a lovely warm area. Very quiet, no slamming doors, everyone seemed very considerate during our stay. All in all a lovely retreat when the weather here has been so cold. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 in the main building facing the back - lovely warm and sunny Also told that one room in the annex attached had a lovely conservatory attached
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you ever so much Kiwi15, Room 4 is one of our best rooms, we're glad you liked it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is the second time I've stopped here as my family lives close by. Each time I have stopped the rooms have been lovely, well presented and very clean.

They used to do an amazing breakfast but now they do a very overpriced and underwhelming breakfast. Don't buy the breakfast, prepare your own in the kitchen. It is clean and well equipped.

Aside from the breakfast this is a very comfortable place to stop. I will be stopping here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Softkitty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Manager at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Yes, we are sorry to see the breakfast go too. It is a recession survival measure, but all rooms now have use of fully equipped shared kitchens. We're proud to still offer good standard rooms in Fishponds, which is a great location for UWE's Glenside, Frenchay and St Matthias campuses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We particularly enjoyed the flat on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 234nadinep234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I booked most of my family into the base for a long weekend as we celebrated a family part locally. The owners were very helpful and flexible with our bookings as people changed their minds with regard to where and how long they wanted to stay. Everybody thought the base was clean and nice. There was slight disappointment about not getting a breakfast but as the breakfast room can be used for food that you bring yourself and as there are local breakfast places around everybody managed. Only downside was that there was a stag/hen party staying in the extended bit of the house which has got shared bathrooms I believe. Family who stayed down there suffered a bit from door slamming when those guys came back...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melb141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaseBristol, Owner at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Yes, we do try to be flexible where we can. People come in all shapes and sizes! Glad you enjoyed yourselves, although we're sorry about the door slamming. Please let us know if you're being disturbed by other guests, I'm sure it would have been resolved quickly with a polite yet stern reminder from management ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews