We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but brilliant”
Review of YHA Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Bristol
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Basic but brilliant”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights, It is 10 minute walk from Bristol Temple Meads station. It is in a georgous old building in the heart of the harbouside which is a recent regeneration area, other hotels in the area are far more expensive. Rooms are basic, bunk beds, cupboard and sink, toilets and showers are along the hall, but the price reflects this. The last two nights I paid to have a 2 bed room to myself. On my first night I was due to sleep in a 6 bed dorm but they put me in a 4 bed dorm with ensuite instead on my own, which was lovely and ideal for a family or group. All staff was really freindly and helpful, and the communial areas were modern and well equipped. Overall if your happy with basic then this is a well recommended stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    123
    74
    21
    9
See reviews for
41
20
87
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here again last weekend for 3 nights, and apart from the last night everything was okay. Friendly and helpful staff, good self catering kitchen equipped with 2 gas and electric cookers with plenty of fridge space to store your things and 3 supermarkets nearby. Nice lounge to chill, watch TV and chat to other guests. Internet expensive - 50p for 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Anywhere towards the back that arent facing the noisy Quayside bars and you should be okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrulousGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As seasoned youth hostellers we would like to recommend Bristol for its location, its chilled out relaxing bar/lounge and the make your own pizzas which are available all day. It was also very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Bristol YHA for two nights in a private ensuite. The location is fantastic and close to all major attractions. The hostel itself is fabulous with a great café and common area, and sufficient laundry facilities. There are excellent restaurants and bars nearby. We would advise against staying in the private room with the disabled ensuite bathroom. The bathroom has additional handrails, a toilet with no seat and a large wet area. The double bed in the room almost seems like a king single bed rather than a double. We ended up having to use the top bunk bed as well because we both could not comfortably fit on the bottom bed – and we are both quite slim. There was only one cabinet with a lock on it because the other door had broken off and could not be found. When we arrived, the toilet seat was not attached to the toilet, but thankfully the staff were helpful and fixed it for us immediately. We had great expectations when we walked in the door and saw how fabulous the rest of the hostel facilities were, but we were a little disappointed by our room in particular. We would recommend this hostel but advise against staying in the disabled private ensuite unless you require the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-disabled room unless you require the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy3060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just back from Bristol YHA. One of the best I've been to. We went with a walking group and walked to the suspension bridge by Brunel which is about 3 miles from the hostel then along the Avon river path. Two fantastic days.
But the hostel was really clean and well equipped with a bar downstairs just onto the quayside. The rooms were clean and we had an ensuite and a bathroom which for four was perfect. And although right in the centre of the city it was really quiet at night (even though students had a party in the basement on the Saturday night). A great place to stay surrounded by beautiful plane trees, boats and boulevards and much much more. I loved Bristol

Room Tip: Womens dorm 407 was great with a view over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lezlee1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.3 km away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#21 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.3 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bristol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bristol

Property: YHA Bristol
Address: 14 Narrow Quay, Bristol BS1 4QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Bristol
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,487 - ₹ 10,601
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For good accommodation in Bristol city centre, this backpackers hostel makes a perfect base. Explore the harbourside and old city areas, visit the magnificent Avon Gorge - Brunel’s suspension bridge or enjoy Bristol’s cultural base of theatres, museums, art galleries and thriving live music and club scene. A former waterfront grain house, this Youth Hostel has been sympathetically restored to offer relaxed cosmopolitan surrounding, ideal for a cheap city break or weekend away.YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Bristol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing