We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Bristol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
83
146
81
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
146
81
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenbunk bedsgames roomyouth hostelshared roomlaundry facilitiesgreat locationtoilet and showerpad lockcheap staycafe barrooms are basiccommunal areasfifth floorsingle roomwater frontcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here again last weekend for 3 nights, and apart from the last night everything was okay. Friendly and helpful staff, good self catering kitchen equipped with 2 gas and electric cookers with plenty of fridge space to store your things and 3 supermarkets nearby. Nice lounge to chill, watch TV and chat to other guests. Internet expensive - 50p for 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Anywhere towards the back that arent facing the noisy Quayside bars and you should be okay.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarrulousGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

As seasoned youth hostellers we would like to recommend Bristol for its location, its chilled out relaxing bar/lounge and the make your own pizzas which are available all day. It was also very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Bristol YHA for two nights in a private ensuite. The location is fantastic and close to all major attractions. The hostel itself is fabulous with a great café and common area, and sufficient laundry facilities. There are excellent restaurants and bars nearby. We would advise against staying in the private room with the disabled ensuite bathroom. The bathroom has additional handrails, a toilet with no seat and a large wet area. The double bed in the room almost seems like a king single bed rather than a double. We ended up having to use the top bunk bed as well because we both could not comfortably fit on the bottom bed – and we are both quite slim. There was only one cabinet with a lock on it because the other door had broken off and could not be found. When we arrived, the toilet seat was not attached to the toilet, but thankfully the staff were helpful and fixed it for us immediately. We had great expectations when we walked in the door and saw how fabulous the rest of the hostel facilities were, but we were a little disappointed by our room in particular. We would recommend this hostel but advise against staying in the disabled private ensuite unless you require the facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the non-disabled room unless you require the facilities.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy3060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just back from Bristol YHA. One of the best I've been to. We went with a walking group and walked to the suspension bridge by Brunel which is about 3 miles from the hostel then along the Avon river path. Two fantastic days.
But the hostel was really clean and well equipped with a bar downstairs just onto the quayside. The rooms were clean and we had an ensuite and a bathroom which for four was perfect. And although right in the centre of the city it was really quiet at night (even though students had a party in the basement on the Saturday night). A great place to stay surrounded by beautiful plane trees, boats and boulevards and much much more. I loved Bristol

Room Tip: Womens dorm 407 was great with a view over the water.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lezlee1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I only stayed here for one night while I visitted Bristol but this hostel was great! I would definately reccommend it to others. The hostel is right on the harbour. It is about 15 minutes walk into the main shopping area and from the bus station but definately worth it. I stayed in a four bed dorm and it was huge with a sink in the room too! The beds were great, so comfortable and didn't squeek at all and there is an elevator which was awesome!! I didn't have to carry my luggage up the stairs!! The showers were annoying and no free internet access but everything was clean. There is a kitchen but I didn't use it as was only there one night. I would definately reccommend this hostel and would stay here again if I went back to Bristol.

Room Tip: Four bedrrom dorm was great!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shimmer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews