We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning scenery and very spacious accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Location of the property on the Toe Head peninsula
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Location of the property on the Toe Head peninsula
Large garden with views across Toe Head Bay- plenty of space for children to play!. Sea view from the front of the property across Toe Head Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Location of the property on the Toe Head peninsula
Large garden with views across Toe Head Bay- plenty of space for children to play!.
Sea view from the front of the property across Toe Head Bay
The property from the front which overlooks Toe Head Bay
Our newly refurbished kitchen.
King size double room with sea views - sit in bed and watch the waves!
The newly refurbished bathroom with contemporaty suite, shower bath and heated towel rail.
Living room with wood burning stove and very comfortable sofa. Shows adjacent large dining room
Sea views from the front and side gardens lots of space for outdoor dining in summer!
The spacious single room with wash basin. Situated at the back of the property with a garden view.
Twin room with sea view
Twin room with countryside view
The newly refurbished light and spacious bathroom.
Toe Head sunset - from property - taken from the dining area.
The dining room off the sitting room will comfortably seat ten people.
The property surrounded by large private garden
Walking from the doorstep! View from the road immediately outside the property gates
Dolphins swimming in Toe Head Bay - we sat in bed and watched them!
Surrounding area: excellent for walking and cycling!
Winter seas - view from the property
Bathroom with showerbath, heated towel rail, and contemporary fittings.
looking AT the property from across the Bay
Nearby unspoilt beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Castletownshend, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pauline B
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning scenery and very spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Traveling down from Cork Airport to Toe Head feels as if you are leaving the hustle and bustle of life behind you. Toe Head is a very rural "get away form it all" location and the scenery is stunning.
The views from the bungalow are just as described and there is a peace and tranquility about this part of Ireland that should be experienced by everyone.
The accommodation was excellent and had everything we needed. There is even TV and WIFI
I'm already looking forward to returning next year and hope to stay a little longer to explore the areas we missed.this time.
Castletownsend is a "must see place" if only to navigate the tree, growing out of the middle of the road, down to the small harbour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: watching the sunset from the terrace with a glass of wine in my hand
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington, United States
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!
Liked least: No TV, no WIFI, no cellphone signal & no telephone.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2012
We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our wonderful rural location and the spacious property. Thank you for your feedback on the things that were not to your satisfaction. In view of feedback we have now installed a brand new TV and DVD player and have had the chimney swept! (it had not been done for years and was out of use). We apologise that you did not find the two hairdryers at the property and we have added a note on their location in our guest information for future guests. We agree that the mobile phone reception can be variable - this is one of the trade-offs for the beautiful remote location. We always get a reception from the kitchen/dining room at the front of the house and will ensure we inform our future guests of this. Thank you again for the useful feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rose L
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tranquil spot and very spacious family accommodation with amazing panoramic views.”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moynihan's for a week with our young children. The house is in a very quiet location with beautiful views across the sea-scape. There are lots of lovely walks, bike rides and beaches to explore. The house itself is very spacious and well equipped, even down to the picnic equipment. We would love to go there again as it is a very peaceful retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine M
Charlbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A blissful rural escape”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We flew into Cork and hired a car travelling out on to the peninsula SW of Cork. We were very impressed with this spacious property. The house is one of only a few houses at Toe Head with an uninterrupted view of the sea which gave us several fab sunsets and it has a very large garden. It is very quiet and peaceful and not too far to Castletownshend and Skibbereen where you can stock up on food and other essentials or find places to eat and buy souvenirs. It is well equipped and even has a dishwasher so no washing up after dinner. My partner, who is a keen fisherman managed to catch mackerel and pollock off the rocks at Toe Head which we barbequed - delicious. We also loved the organic country market in the town of Schull which is on every Sunday. Great if you love country walks, running, self-catering, pretty local beaches and seclusion. All in all a very relaxing stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: You do need to hire a car or have a car.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemonnier...
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the sea views and spotted wildlife too!
I have passed on your kind words to Pauline.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Merci!
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;