We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh no!! wheres the cake ??”
Review of Caudwell Mill Cafe - CLOSED

Caudwell Mill Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a vegetarian cafe within the historic Caudwell's Mill heritage complex with views across the River Wye.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a vegetarian cafe within the historic Caudwell's Mill heritage complex with views across the River Wye.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting this cafe for years and were very sad to see the changes to wot was a real cake lovers paradise in a charming country cafe full of character and amazing baked delights. Homity pie with a fabulous colourful delicious salad and the best cakes in the world in our opinion. The changes to the interior of the building has taken away its charm and the beautiful array of cakes is nowhere near as good. So sorry to say we miss the lovely lunches and cakes why change something so perfect?? Its a shame to see things so different although the scones are very good the cakes are no comparison. We might not visit as often now....sorry

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank B9912SZkathyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Really loved visiting this place today. As a family of veggies we were in heaven. I have been hunting for a veggie rocky road for YEARS and finally they had one with gelatine free marshmallows and it was amazing! Would definitely recommend. The staff were lovely and the coffees were nice. Only comment would be to add camomile tea to the menu!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank anneliese03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, General Manager at Caudwell Mill Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2021

Thank you very much for your kind review. We work with two brilliant ethical tea suppliers in Nemi and TeaTulia and we will try to make camomile available as soon as we can.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

We have been coming here for maybe 15 years when on annual holidays in the area. We were so disappointed to see the changes, not only in the seating [high bar stools placed side by side at counters?] but mostly in the quality of the food. We used to love the quiches & homity pie with the huge salads & always used to add a home-made soda roll which were superb. The quiche & homity pie were still tasty but nowhere as good as in previous visits & the salads were certainly very disappointing. Had we not been here before we would probably have had no complaints at all, but we can only compare with previous meals & feel sad that the changes are not an improvement.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K9967BElindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, General Manager at Caudwell Mill Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2021

Thank you for your review, as a site run by a small charity, like many establishments we have had to make changes over the past eighteen months as there have been so many challenges, including the retirement of our longstanding tenants in the cafe and gift store. Many of those changes, such as to the cafe seating have been made to accommodate stricter hygiene routines and, while you mention ​that we have put high bar stools in you haven't mentioned that we have only done this along the windows overlooking the River Wye nor mentioned the larger tables with new wooden chairs, the extra outdoor tables and chairs, the picnic tables and chairs or the private summerhouse overlooking the water, all of which are new options for eating with us.

As above, although we have had to make changes and we are sorry that you found us less than before, as a charity we are more than happy that we have been able to self fund our survival and stay open despite extremely challenging trading conditions and we are aware that we still have work to do to reach our best but we have the commitment to improve.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2021

We are so sad to see our favourite cafe has changed so much, we loved the place, the food was proper homemade, delicious veggie food and the staff were just amazing and we will miss Peter, Sal and the rest of the team very much but thanks for being so friendly and welcoming over the years.
We’ve been customers since it opened all those years ago and travel 45 minutes from Leek at least once a fortnight. Yes, things have to move on I guess but I do hope that the food can be improved I know it’s early days but what is on offer at the moment is not for us.
We will give it another try and wish the new management the best of luck.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Porky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan C, General Manager at Caudwell Mill Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2021

Thank you very much for your review and for your good wishes and I am sorry that you found us less than before. We are still a work in progress but we have the skills and ambition to be everything the former cafe was and, dare I say it, more. While the cafe, as people knew it, had been in existence for over thirty years and had that time to develop into what we are being compared to we have been open as an indoor venue for less than three months but we do hope your next visit is more enjoyable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021

So sad to see how this place has changed. The characteristic church pews have gone and the place no longer has a style of its own. Sitting on stools by the window gives you a lovely view but the shelf is too narrow for eating a meal off and this arrangement only works if there are one or two of you. But the main problem is the food: not a patch on what it used to be and the classic homity pie is now a bland leek and potato pie with no flavour of cheese or garlic. Portions are small too; meals used to be served with a full plate of salad but now it's just half a plate of not very tasty salads such as cold pasta. I wish the new owners well, but please try harder!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Arlington10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Caudwell Mill Cafe also viewed

Rowsley, Peak District National Park
Rowsley, Peak District National Park
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.