We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
6
8
1
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
8
1
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabin cots harbours firewood luggage
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

If you want to avoid most of the tourists that congregate in Avalon, and you prefer tents over hotels, then consider Two Harbors. It's a convenient campground about half a mile hike from the pier, which is where you will come in by boat. An inexpensive round-trip gear haul is offered upon arrival, so if you are packing heavy, it's a good deal. Near the pier you will find a restaurant with a bar. There is also a small general store to grab those camping forget-me-nots. Kayak and paddle board rentals are available. The tent sites come with a picnic table, grill, and fire pit. There are outdoor open showers at the top of the hill, as well as chemical toilets. There is not much in the way of shade on Catalina Island, it is a desert island after all. So be prepared for lots of hot sun: Sunscreen, sunglasses, extra-wide-brimmed hat, sandals and water shoes, and perhaps a 2-3 litter hydration pack would be highly advisable. If you enjoy thru-hiking and backpacking (I don't advise it in the summer due to heat) locals have suggested visiting during the spring when the weather is cooler and the hills are green. If you know what to expect and are prepared weather-wise, Catalina is a fun, quick get-a-way from LA. You can be as active or inactive as you want.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
4  Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We've come here several times and always got a campsite close to the water. It's amazing to look out of your tent right at the ocean! It's definitely roughing it because it is tent camping. But if you like camping, like the ocean, and LOVE snorkeling as much as I do, it doesn't get much better! The marine wildlife is just steps from your tent, I've heard tell of buffalo in the hills (though I haven't seen any myself), and you just CAN NOT beat the 360* view. It does get chilly and your only toilet is a porta-potty. Keep in mind this is an adventure. It's a 1/4 mile hike to the campground from the town. But the town has bathrooms, coin-op showers, a couple restaurants, a little (overpriced) store for items you forgot to pack, and an ice cream window. Overall a super fun trip. But you are close to other campsites so if your neighbors are jerks it will be frustrating. Oh well. TIPS: 1) You can get the truck to haul your gear to the campsite so you don't have to carry it from the boat. It's a short hike but there is some semi-steep uphill on dirt. 2) We like to camp primitively two nights and on the third day shower in the town and eat at the restaurant before we head home on the boat. 3) Buy your firewood bundles from the rangers. They'll deliver to your site! 4) The water gets cold so wear a wetsuit if you are snorkeling for a long time. I also found booties and gloves to be especially helpful! 5) There used to be canopies for shade but they're gone now so bring your own. We bungie-cord ours to the cooler on the boat ride over so it still only counts as one item in the two item per person limit on the boat.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
5  Thank Mommyslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

We somehow had a good family trip to Two Harbors, but the campground pushed the limits of our tolerance. we rented a 6 person tent for $350 for two nights. The tent was dirty, the campground was in disrepair (with rickety and dangerous wooden stairs up to the campsite), many of the chemical toilets had no toilet paper, and my daughter in law refused to use the dirty showers. A restoration would take a group of maids, a carpenter and a painter a month. It's a shame because the rest of Two Harbors is such a wonderful experience.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
6  Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We camp at TH every summer. We honeymooned here last year. This month I booked a campsite for three nights to celebrate our anniversary, paid in full for three nights, hauled all our gear uphill ourselves to find a group of guys had taken our site and set up a full-on camp. Completly RUDE! I flagged the Ranger, some new guy (not our long haired Ranger we've seen for years). He was so passive. Complete disappointment! He didn't inspect permits or tell the guys to leave. I PAID IN FULL FOR THREE NIGHTS!! THESE GUYS WERE FREE-LOADING!! Rather, he stood there smoking while checking the portable potty. He passed it off to the front desk at the dock and then told us we had to move. WHAT?!! WE PAID AND HAULED GEAR OURSELVES ETC!!! The office at the dock was great and reimbursed our money back for all the PROBLEMS. We took the next boat home. Two Harbors campground is a joke! There's a lack of leadership, management, and accountability with the new Ranger staff. There are no trees at half the sites, So no using hammacks! Prices have gone up and the experience has gone down. It's equivalent to Disneyland with the amount of people piling in to each site, thus taking over the sites nearby!! The campers are rude and take over multiple sites and tables and the Ranger doesn't enforce the rules. You're better off Staying home!!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
16  Thank MountainHikerCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here many times after visits to Two Harbours. Loved it each time. The bar at Two Harbours is a great place, and some of my most memorable (if a little fuzzy) nights have been there, and it's so convenient to have such a stunning campground so close. I'd recommend this place to anyone as long as you aren't expecting deluxe glamping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews