We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base for free parking”

RAF Harrowbeer Airfield
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We just used this place as free parking when attending the Christmas fair at Buckland Abbey. It was very well ran during the day with attendants that were directing you where to park. The free buses were every ten minutes to and from. Sorry it’s not very informative but I only used it for that.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank 694karent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

We visit here quite frequently when we want a quick walk. A bit of history mixed with ponies and sheep. The dartmoor ponies are smelly, curious and cautious at the same time, they are friendly enough to approach you but are easily spooked, I wouldn't want to get on the tail end of one.

On my last visit I noticed some of the old RAF fixtures have metal grates accross some of the door ways with signs on the other side with various titles e.g. "Air Raid Shelter Entrance" on the one nearest to the nursing home. I'd be interested to know if these are ever opened for tours, even if only very occasionally.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank RobP1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Walk the dogs here after visiting the Veterinary. It's a lovely area to stroll around. At the same time musing about it's history as an RAF aerodrome during WW2. The cafe used to be the Control Tower and has a small museum of interesting artifacts.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Not only a great place to walk, there is history attached. Great to see what used to be a WW2 aero drone. No planes now but plenty of sheep, ponies and cattle. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

My drone flight over RAF Harrowbeer, ex RAF airfield from the Second World War, near the village of Yelverton, near Plymouth in Devon England

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Kilo_Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RAF Harrowbeer Airfield also viewed

Buckland Monachorum, Devon

Been to RAF Harrowbeer Airfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing